Virtual Machine on Win10

maarksparky

DW Member ++
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
2,100
Hi folks,

is there any way to run a virtual windows say Win 7 on Windows 10?

I have a hardware that's only compatible with Win 7 and want to check if there is any way to run it like we used to run XP on Win 7
 

papa2

DW Member +
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
775
Should be , I run linux mint using Oracle VM Virtualbox on windows 10
 

maarksparky

DW Member ++
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
2,100
thanks mate, can you guide me how to do this? Do I need to install a virtual box before installing win7?
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,770
thanks mate, can you guide me how to do this? Do I need to install a virtual box before installing win7?
Yes. Put VirtualBox or VMWare on Win10 then install Win7 on a new virtual machine.
 

papa2

DW Member +
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
775
thanks mate, can you guide me how to do this? Do I need to install a virtual box before installing win7?
As above install virtualbox first , then install your windows7 from iso or disk , looks hard at first but theres plenty of guides on youtube,
give it a go , if your unsure about anything just post again
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,770
cheers guys, download virtualbox will report back
Install the add-ons or pressing Right CTRL to capture the mouse will get on your wick! Also allows a swap folder on the host I think.
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,770
Just thinking @maarksparky, it isn't Win7 32-bit and something on a parallel port (remember those?) is it?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
1
I know this is a few weeks old. But, make sure the Virtualization option is enabled in BIOS, if your system is new enough to support it. Will be called something like Intel VT or AMD V or even just Virtualization. This dramtically speeds up Virtual Machines running on the system.
 

hackmax

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
2,074
There is a bit more too it now. Some virtualization engines such as Hyper-V on Server 2016 require more CPU features such as SLAT.

Windows 10 also has Hyper-V (depending on the edition) - so you may not need VMware or VirtualBox.
 

lanton2005

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
3
Does anyone know what’s best Hyper-V or VMware I am looking to setup but not sure what one is best ?
 

jfish

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
2,810
Does anyone know what’s best Hyper-V or VMware I am looking to setup but not sure what one is best ?
all depends .. I have worked with VMWare and Hyper V at enterprise level and both have benefits. To be fair to Microsoft HyperV from Server 2012 is excellent.

For your case I would consider ESXi (free version) where as with Windows Server you will need a license.
 

athdiam

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
2
In Win10 --> Start-->Control Panel --> Programs and Features --> Turn Windows Features on or off --> select "windows Hypervisor Platform"
Let it install...
Open and use the Hypervisor
Done!!!
 

janobi

Janet to us
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
8,650
all depends .. I have worked with VMWare and Hyper V at enterprise level and both have benefits. To be fair to Microsoft HyperV from Server 2012 is excellent.

For your case I would consider ESXi (free version) where as with Windows Server you will need a license.
Again, it depends as jfish said. Hyper-v is designed for small/medium size businesses. VMWare is designed for large/Enterprise environments. VMWare imho is head and shoulders above hyper-v, but others will have other preferences.
 
TEST
Top