• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

v+ & card pairing cost

spareafagmate

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
68
Likes
0
#1
wussup guys, it's about time they stuck the cable forums back up. anyway, could someone please let me know the setup cost for a v+ hd service for someone in my situation (explained below):

i have recently bought a v+ box with card off fleabay, also i used to be a cable customer some years ago before i switched to sky so i already have a cable line attached to my house.

would i still have to pay the installation cost of £150 or would it be cheaper because of my circumstances?
 

havelln

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2007
Messages
1,015
Likes
19
#2
they wont pair a card to that box you got off ebay as it belongs to ****** and they will want it back if you ytell them you got it
 

Rs2k_Rider

DW's Resident Medic
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
4,510
Likes
64
#3
they wont pair a card to that box you got off ebay as it belongs to ****** and they will want it back if you ytell them you got it

hang on a min, you have to buy the V+ boxes.. so does that not make them your property ?
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Likes
72
#4
You dont buy them - they charge you an administration fee. They still own the actual boxes.
 

Rs2k_Rider

DW's Resident Medic
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
4,510
Likes
64
#5
You dont buy them - they charge you an administration fee. They still own the actual boxes.
hmm i always see it advertised as around £150 for the box, then installation etc. so how can they charge for a box that remains theres ?
 

hackmax

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
2,022
Likes
193
#6
They charge an installation fee of £150 (often discounted to £75)

That charge is for the installation and NOT the cost of the box. Part of your monthly charge includes RENTAL of the box.
 

spareafagmate

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
68
Likes
0
#7
i called them up twice today. one vm agent said the £150 charge would still stand to activate the box even after ordering a tv service whilst another agent told me there would be no charge to activate the box (typical vm, now i remember why i cancelled the service in the first place), most confusing. i will have to call their sales team tomorrow for hopeful clarification.

ps i even told them i had bought the box off ebay.
 

IANB

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
12,870
Likes
232
#8
i called them up twice today. one vm agent said the £150 charge would still stand to activate the box even after ordering a tv service whilst another agent told me there would be no charge to activate the box (typical vm, now i remember why i cancelled the service in the first place), most confusing. i will have to call their sales team tomorrow for hopeful clarification.

ps i even told them i had bought the box off ebay.
Dont tell them you bought a box off ebay as it is stolen property. As stated you cannot buy them from vm, the £150 is an installation charge and the box always remains the property of vm. You are playing with fire a bit m8
 

gooner71

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
1,911
Likes
24
#9
In all fairness it was mentioned at least twice not to mention it to VM as they always own the box - so i think that if you chose to ignore good advice and they ask you for the box back it will end up costing you over double the normal cost of a subscriber to get the same service???
 

spareafagmate

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
68
Likes
0
#10
In all fairness it was mentioned at least twice not to mention it to VM as they always own the box - so i think that if you chose to ignore good advice and they ask you for the box back it will end up costing you over double the normal cost of a subscriber to get the same service???
funny how you were so quick to jump on my ass eh gooner? i called them up before i made the post, i gave more information about my situation in this thread as a result of the responses i got. i did not give to them any personal details and spoke to them merely as a prospective customer. they did ask me if it was a box like that of eurovox or a ****** media box to which i informed them it was a v+ box, of which the second agent told me there would be no problem/cost in activation.

whenever i come onto digitalworldz it is usually to seek help, offer advice or to have a laugh with a few cheesy lines... not to ignore opinions
 

rawsy

DW F1 Champ 2010, 14
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
5,605
Likes
126
#11
funny how you were so quick to jump on my ass eh gooner? i called them up before i made the post, i gave more information about my situation in this thread as a result of the responses i got. i did not give to them any personal details and spoke to them merely as a prospective customer. they did ask me if it was a box like that of eurovox or a ****** media box to which i informed them it was a v+ box, of which the second agent told me there would be no problem/cost in activation.

whenever i come onto digitalworldz it is usually to seek help, offer advice or to have a laugh with a few cheesy lines... not to ignore opinions
this is highly unusual they simply havent done this in the past so at the end when if you get your v+ activated let us know please
 

spareafagmate

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
68
Likes
0
#12
this is highly unusual they simply havent done this in the past so at the end when if you get your v+ activated let us know please
yeah no probs rawsy, i'm gonna call their sales team later on in the afternoon (working last night so off to bed now), hopefully they can clear things up for me.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Likes
72
#13
You could be causing problems for the original owner of the box as they have sold something that didn't belong to them !

If you pass the serial No of the box back to the cc then they will know where that box is supposed to be and will likely send a bill out to the original subscriber to recover the cost of the box. For a V+ box, I believe they charge over £300 !
 

IANB

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
12,870
Likes
232
#14
Or else they could string you along till they get your address details then well who knows what. The short of it is you have no legit reason for having that box and the fact that they asked you if it was a starview box would send me running thats for sure.
Be careful m8 your heading for trouble.
 

spareafagmate

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
68
Likes
0
#15
just spoke to a uk based VM sales agent, confirming what some of you guys have said. VM would have to request the box back even if i were to take out a subscription. they suggested i contact the seller and get my money back. guesse that serves me right for being so eager. just wondering, if this is the case then why are there so many VM boxes available on ebay?
 

spareafagmate

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
68
Likes
0
#16
IANB just read your post. you dont suppose they would go through the effort of recording and tracing my phone number do you? paranoid i know but i want reassurance
 

IANB

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
12,870
Likes
232
#17
IANB just read your post. you dont suppose they would go through the effort of recording and tracing my phone number do you? paranoid i know but i want reassurance
If you phoned from a vm land line then i think your details would be on their screen m8
 

MFCGMFC

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
7,052
Likes
76
#19
if it is a payg fone then it may be untraceable

there is a lot of vm boxes on ebay cause peepsdon't need them and know there is a market for them

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC