Uses for a Dreambox once got N3?

sentrypr

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Messages
48
Reaction score
0
I have received my N3 card for my subbed box now (Manchester area) so the end is in sight for the use of the DM500c for Tv (well until a CS solution is found)

What other uses can a 500c be used for?

I know it can be used to stream from a PC using VLC and you could pay the built games on there but any other uses for it?

I was wondering if it would be any good as a VPN server/SSH tunnel, allowing me to get access to my home network remotely?
I could set this up on a PC but id rather have a little powerPC box only drawing a few watts of electricity than a PC running all day.
 

demonx

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
732
Reaction score
12
What other uses can a 500c be used for?

To hold doors in place? :D

I was wondering if it would be any good as a VPN server/SSH tunnel, allowing me to get access to my home network remotely?

Dropbear runs very nice on OpenPLI, not sure if it can tunnel.. I mucked around with SCP on it and it never worked right tbh. But it can listen on a port of your choice and logs in fine.
 

sentrypr

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Messages
48
Reaction score
0
Never heard of dropbear but a quicky google search reveals it does appear to support SSH tunnels using putty :)

I also noticed that there appears to be a dreambox image that supports OpenVPN https://www.digitalworldz.co.uk/index.php?threads/186126/

I know this if for sat but as once the N3 kicks in i wont be using the DM for watching TV anyway so im assuming the VPN functions will still work on this image.

Looks like it may have a future after all.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

BIG-HOL

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
6,590
Reaction score
759
Never heard of dropbear but a quicky google search reveals it does appear to support SSH tunnels using putty :)

I also noticed that there appears to be a dreambox image that supports OpenVPN https://www.digitalworldz.co.uk/index.php?threads/186126/

I know this if for sat but as once the N3 kicks in i wont be using the DM for watching TV anyway so im assuming the VPN functions will still work on this image.

Looks like it may have a future after all.
whats this vpn all about then, and what uses have you got for it, dont really know what it is so just curious as i have a few dreamboxes i could have a play with!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sentrypr

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Messages
48
Reaction score
0
VPN is a virtual private network, which would allow you to securely connect to your home network from anywhere with an internet connection. Some routers support this already but my doesnt so the dreambox would handle it instead.
My uses would be to be able to connect to my network attached storage box or to print to my printer over the internet from an internet cafe or wifi hotspot.

You could also use it to get access to Iplayer and other video services when on holiday abroad that require a UK IP address, or if your wanting an extra layer of security when using a public wifi access as all your traffic would be encypted so no way of them logging what sites you visited or 'sniffing' your passwords
 

bakerman

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
362
Reaction score
4
Location
Elland Road
i have a 600 with a h/d installed, can i record from say my freeview box to my dreambox 600?
 

bakerman

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
362
Reaction score
4
Location
Elland Road
yep, just organised a s tuner to have a look as what its like on sat. thanks for the reply.
 

2tone

DW Member ++
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
1,329
Reaction score
12
if using a c type im sure you will be able to use it as said above by chronoman dm give you the option to c/s well thats as long as you get the right stuff to do it
 

bakerman

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
362
Reaction score
4
Location
Elland Road
thanks 2tone. its a t now i,m getting a s tuner to mess arround with.i only have usb broadband here no landline.dont know if it will work with c/s.?.
 
Last edited:

chronoman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,272
Reaction score
102
Location
Home of Golf
thanks 2tone. its a t now i,m getting a s tuner to mess arround with.i only have usb broadband here no landline.dont know if it will work with c/s.?.
you dont need tuner in dreambox to work as server
 
TEST
Top