URGENT ! - Starview clones !

hawkish

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
2,994
Reaction score
202
Location
SSH [email protected]
Clone 260 Uploaded

Now posted the modified 260 firmware for the clone boxes.

it is (of course) in the download section


enjoy
 

baz

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
gutted!!!!!!!!!.thanks for the quick reply,that all makes sense,it looks like ive been well and truely shafted!!!!!,is there any way we can bring these boxes back to life?,kind regards mark

Yes you may be able to revive your box look around this forum for the famous JTAG, this may solve your probelm
 

datazman

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Clone Or not???

Hi the starview box Ive got in discription resembles that of the clones, when i flashed it with 2.60ee safe for clones it killed it.
I then loaded the flash 3.00 for originals and turned the main power off the box as soon as i turned it back on i clicked on the flash button to update 3.00 on to what looks like a clone to me............guess what it worked.
If it works for anyone else please post info thanx.
IF ANY1 WANTS TO TRY THIS PLEASE TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK.
 

blanno

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
445
Reaction score
5
Location
Wales
Hi the starview box Ive got in discription resembles that of the clones, when i flashed it with 2.60ee safe for clones it killed it.
I then loaded the flash 3.00 for originals and turned the main power off the box as soon as i turned it back on i clicked on the flash button to update 3.00 on to what looks like a clone to me............guess what it worked.
If it works for anyone else please post info thanx.
IF ANY1 WANTS TO TRY THIS PLEASE TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK.
I have flashed two proper boxes and one clone with 3.00 all work fine and update automatically.seems safe enough

blanno
 

dazzlet

Inactive User
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
491
Reaction score
4
the 2 boxes that were updated with the version 3.00 software are they still working because i had one and after it ran the version 3.00 for 6 days it died?
 

oscar

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
i think the way to test them is just to pull the plug out of the wall socket they then wont reboot. my one upstairs didnt but the one downstairs working ok
oscar
 

saxson99

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Clone died with 3.00 friendly version

Exactly 7 days my clone has died on 3.00, it happened accidentally when my boys took out the starview plug out instead of their xbox plug:FRIGHT:
 

popi110

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
162
Reaction score
0
7 days and its died after unplugging box v3 clone safe flashed last friday looks like i will have to get a jtag of flee bay as my soldering skills are limited
would advise anyone who flashed a clone box not to unpug it and reflash asap with old firmware

enyone knows if this item wil as its do solderless
http://www.tailor-madecircuits.com/twenty_way_jtag_pogo_interface.htm
 
Last edited:
T

tmc

Guest
no m8 no good you will need the solder 1 on ebay under starview jtag. It is not up on www.tailor-madecircuits.com site only on ebay. so do not end up buying the wrong as you will waste more money. It is also made by tailor-madecircuits.

tmc
 

flickster

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
379
Reaction score
25
Location
Scotland
starview V3.00 killing boxs - Today, 21:32 PM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my 2 bros have just called to say there starview have went off, contacted guy i got them from, and he has had lots of calls today,,visited his forum, and he has withdrawn latest version from d/loads, and asked us allto revert back to 2.57e,,,gonna refund everyone,also as im writing this,,my sis inlaw also same,,dead box,,no display,,nothing..

here what he said




STARVIEW USERS PLEASE READ
ATTENTION ALL STARVIEW USERS

we at ********* have decided to withdraw v3.00 from our forum as it has cause so many problems...

please can everyone revert back to 257eE if you are a telewest customer ......and ntl back to 258eE...

all boxes should now autoroll with all the latest keys

this is affected from 18.45 8th june 2007

all boxes bought from ******* have a 12 month warranty

we are offering all people with faulty boxes a refund or the option to upgrade to Eurovox for £55 which is a £20 discount on our retail price, I believe this Reconfirms ******** total commitment to members.?


thank you very much for your attention
 

popi110

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
162
Reaction score
0
thanks i have seen the solderless on on ebay by tailor made just thought the solderless one may do if the pins matched up
will have to have a go and solder i think my iorns that old u need a coal fire to heat it

Cheers
 

hackmax

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
2,074
Reaction score
263
Location
given up.
The solderless is not the same type of JTAG

You need a specific starview one. There are no solderless options for this yet.
 

smiler12345

Inactive User
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
127
Reaction score
0
yes mate you can fetch it back but u need a jtagg lead which you can get from tmc mate in leicester
 

jayjayuk

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
536
Reaction score
1
btw cable and sat are selling fakes, they recon they are good ones thou?? £63+ £6 delivery.
 

wangy

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
do clones still power up when they have died

alright all.
RE clones . when you say the box has died do you all mean it wont even power up any more.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
106
Location
Who knows !
The trojan in the later firmwares effectively erases the flash memory in clone boxes. Without a programmed flash the box is basically a doorstop unless you can re-program the flash. Luckily, thats where the Jtag device comes in.........
 

lardys

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
hi can anyone point me in the direction of some member who fixes dead starview boxes it needs jtag and not got the time or patiance to do it myself. thanks rich
 

MFCGMFC

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
7,052
Reaction score
76
pm sent...

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC
 
TEST
Top