Update 3.41 causing BIG problems

cg010169

DW Regular
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,848
Reaction score
88
Location
Deathstar
Have heard of some having this issue. It's an issue with the last firmware update and another one will be released soon to fix the problem. Alot of the issues have happened when people have used USB drives to do the update, rather than using the internet. Not sure why that would cause it.
Should only affect a very small number of people, who have changed their drive in the past few days. Still it's helpful info for anyone who has
 

Raven24

Banned
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
1,186
Reaction score
22
Location
Lost In HD.
This is starting to grate on me to be honest, seems like every update comes with a fresh set of folk complaining about all these problems that I don't have with pertains to the most recent update. Makes me wonder sometimes but I do know it gets a little annoying after a while because it's seemingly never ending lol.

To be honest the only problem I've had was one that every 'fat' PS3 owner had and that was with the 24 hour PSN/game blackout a few months back that was related to the hardware clock and the leap year miscalculation. Have to be honest other than that mine's always been A okay.
 

JohnO1234

Member ++
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
731
Reaction score
13
Fact of the matter being that the stupid dicks at sony have released bum firmware. I have a PS3 at the moment which I cannot use, because it didn't come with a HDD. I popped in a 80GB one from an old machine and now it is formatted can't use it in either, both on 3.41.

There ain't just a few that will be affected by this there will infact be lot's of people that this will affect, even people who have a sytem crash and need the PS3 hdd formatted will have a doorstop until sony pull their fingers out.

Not being able to use a PS3 is a little worse than not being able to play online wouldn't you think?

JohnO
 

Joe1989

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,285
Reaction score
101
Location
Renfrew
Mine has been fine however im on the 3.41 firmware with standard HD and updated using the internet


Dunno what it would be rejecting the HD's though, Could sony be planning a new bit of hard drive security that aftermarket HD's dont like ?
 

JohnO1234

Member ++
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
731
Reaction score
13
I think it's just to do with the new slimlime firmware udates, the PS3 now downloads patches rather than the whole hog of 170MB worth of duplicate data. The just never thought , "oh Yeah people aren't just going to keep the same hard drive in the box".

:)

JohnO
 

Raven24

Banned
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
1,186
Reaction score
22
Location
Lost In HD.
Fact of the matter being that the stupid dicks at sony have released bum firmware. I have a PS3 at the moment which I cannot use, because it didn't come with a HDD. I popped in a 80GB one from an old machine and now it is formatted can't use it in either, both on 3.41.

There ain't just a few that will be affected by this there will infact be lot's of people that this will affect, even people who have a sytem crash and need the PS3 hdd formatted will have a doorstop until sony pull their fingers out.

Not being able to use a PS3 is a little worse than not being able to play online wouldn't you think?

JohnO

I partly agree with this as PS3 doesn't just play games (it only does everything - soz i had to, was too gd to let slide ive got a fanboy image to uphold apparently! ;)) so anyway it sucks for those people having problems with relation to the hdd and the new update and yes it wouldn't be the first time Sony has released gimped firmware so I'm not defending them as such, in fact I'm scratching my head wondering what this firmware is even supposed to be doing....doesn't seem to have changed anything on my system....

Anyway back on point I partly agree with you but also having said that how is it that your PS3 came without a hdd in the first place ? Of course you must have bought second hand and on the cheap unless your original hdd failed totally....I'd also say if you didn't have a hdd in it already then that's partly your own fault n **** up as much as it is Sony's in a way because all PS3's are sold with a hdd already sorted out. And I imagine Sony will fix this issue in the next update but til it happens.....because it's not just that but being able to upgrade the hdd is a selling point of the console as well so that's kind of a big thing to have in a gimped state.

But on the positive end what with 3D and Move coming out I'm sure we'll see at least a couple more updates before the summer is out and so I'd fully expect to see this fixed. Though you'll probably say meh just another few more things for them to fook up. ;)
 

jamesyboyjim

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
5,235
Reaction score
1,452
Location
CWS =
the only issue ive ever had from my ps3 is how damn noisy it is after a bit of time being on.

but it is just an old skool 40gig console.
 

JohnO1234

Member ++
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
731
Reaction score
13
I stripped mine down to the motherboard and it still makes a racket lol. Clean as a whistle she is honestly sir....

Still sounds like a plane taking off. Glad I got my 80GB fixed now though, my daughter can have the other one as a media server lol ;-)
 
TEST
Top