transformer needed

allroad

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
19,033
Reaction score
108
Location
UK / SPAIN
anyone know were i can get a transformer that can plug into the mains but only give out 13.5 vdc
 

Reddevil

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
8,138
Reaction score
18
local electric shop should have em m8, they work from 3v to 12v one i have does only cost about a fiver. Is it for a programmer type use.
 

allroad

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
19,033
Reaction score
108
Location
UK / SPAIN
needs to be 13.5 output its for my mums nebuliser the plug in charger / mains adapter has blew up
 

earwig999

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2003
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
353
Location
Derby
Lol, from the title I thought you were after Optimus Prime. Robots in Disguise!!
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
32,062
Reaction score
8,696
@ earwig me to lol

i have the old megatron with the purple gun if any good paul ;)

Regards
Mickie D
 

leggoman

DW Member +
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
1,503
Reaction score
3
Location
Nottingham
you could try maplins power surply

Maplins
XM20W 3A 13.8V DC PSU62 in Stock £14.99
also 5amp model as well 19.99
any of them would do you
 

allroad

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
19,033
Reaction score
108
Location
UK / SPAIN
still searching i can only find ones up to 12v really need 13.5 urgent for my mum
 

TBC

Inactive User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
4,015
Reaction score
50
a standard 13.8v dc power supply should be fine.
they are widely available in maplins ect.

the alternative would be to repair the original power supply.
the usual problem with these transformer type power supplies is a thermal fuse inside the windings it can often be looped out with spare taps on the transformer.

since it is knackered already - i will be happy to take a look at it for you.
the worst thing about these things is taking the case apart and reassembling the case afterwards.
 

allroad

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
19,033
Reaction score
108
Location
UK / SPAIN
mike it was bought in the usa so the original poer supply is no good as its blowen up need a uk one asap
 

TBC

Inactive User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
4,015
Reaction score
50
allroad said:
mike it was bought in the usa so the original poer supply is no good as its blowen up need a uk one asap

thats no worries mate - you can purchase a step down transformer all over the place to make the power supply work.
of course you will need to know what you are doing electrically. as i said i reckon if your that stuck i could breathe some life into it as a last resort.
i think the sega megadrive is a 10v transformer so it probably rules it out.

as long as you buy a 12v 1amp unregulated supply you should find it works no problems, as these usually dish out at least 13.5 volts upto an amp.
 

allroad

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
19,033
Reaction score
108
Location
UK / SPAIN
jeeps it might be the job red cheers
 
TEST
Top