TomTom 7 on PDA - Instructions

Stoney Durdles

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Big thanks to all who have contributed to this thread, particularly devil666x for answering my plea for help.

If it's of any use I have sorted my issues and have TT7 happily running on an SE Xperia X1. Problems with identifying Maps and getting the sound sorted all resolved. Also now have voices and UK 7 digit postcodes sorted.

Watching the thread to give back.

Stoney :xmas:
 

gwandad

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I'm new to this stuff. I have an Asus 632 & have had tomtom6 running for a couple of years. Tomtom are not putting out new maps for 6, so I am trying to upgrade to tt7, however I can't seem to see anything on the pda except that it is synchronsed. I downloaded Tomtom home 2.5 & active sync 4.5. Can anyone point me in the right direction, please?


gwandad
 

The Dentist

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
8,321
Reaction score
1,027
Location
London
I'm new to this stuff. I have an Asus 632 & have had tomtom6 running for a couple of years. Tomtom are not putting out new maps for 6, so I am trying to upgrade to tt7, however I can't seem to see anything on the pda except that it is synchronsed. I downloaded Tomtom home 2.5 & active sync 4.5. Can anyone point me in the right direction, please?


gwandad

for the latest maps you will need tomtom 7.9 on.
do you know where to get this? if not send me a pm mate.

after that you can then get map version 8.15 on there.

what operating system has it got installed? windows mobile? 2003? 5? 6? 6.1?
 

jmermel

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
OK guys I dont see this anywhere in the forums so decided to write one up. I've finally managed to install tomtom 7 on my pda (mda compact3).
So here goes:

1) Find the device ID of your PDA.
To do this you will need tomtom home from HERE

Install then connect your pda usig active sync.
It will recognise your device and after strting up, see the pictures below where you have to click.

2) Download TTN7.450.9028_repack.cab from somewhere (usual places, just search in google and you will find)

3) Download MAP. I got this one United_Kingdom_and_Republic_of_Ireland_v720.1802.

4) In the map folder you will find loads of files, we want the 3 files that end with META, PNA and DCT. Copy them to a another folder called "insert_meta_from_Map_here". <--- yes thats the name of the folder.

5) Go one step up from the folder you should have 4 files and one folder. the 4 files ar called:

DeviceID.txt
RunMeforDCT.bat
tt7_keygen.exe
meta.txt

and the folder is called:

insert_meta_from_Map_here

In the DeviceID.txt just copy and paste your device ID.
double click on RunmeForDCT.bat > select Option 1 > Follow instructions.
Once it has completed, go into the "insert_meta_from_Map_here" folder and copy the new META, PNA and DCT files into your map folder and replace them. > Your map is now ready.

Put the TTN7.450.9028_repack.cab into the storage card of your PDA and run it. it will install tomtom on your PDA. > copy map onto the storage card.
Run tomtom and off you go!

Any problems let me know guys hope this helps and hope i been clear.
Will this work with TT7 v 7.910
 

jmermel

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
OK guys I dont see this anywhere in the forums so decided to write one up. I've finally managed to install tomtom 7 on my pda (mda compact3).
So here goes:

1) Find the device ID of your PDA.
To do this you will need tomtom home from HERE

Install then connect your pda usig active sync.
It will recognise your device and after strting up, see the pictures below where you have to click.

2) Download TTN7.450.9028_repack.cab from somewhere (usual places, just search in google and you will find)

3) Download MAP. I got this one United_Kingdom_and_Republic_of_Ireland_v720.1802.

4) In the map folder you will find loads of files, we want the 3 files that end with META, PNA and DCT. Copy them to a another folder called "insert_meta_from_Map_here". <--- yes thats the name of the folder.

5) Go one step up from the folder you should have 4 files and one folder. the 4 files ar called:

DeviceID.txt
RunMeforDCT.bat
tt7_keygen.exe
meta.txt

and the folder is called:

insert_meta_from_Map_here

In the DeviceID.txt just copy and paste your device ID.
double click on RunmeForDCT.bat > select Option 1 > Follow instructions.
Once it has completed, go into the "insert_meta_from_Map_here" folder and copy the new META, PNA and DCT files into your map folder and replace them. > Your map is now ready.

Put the TTN7.450.9028_repack.cab into the storage card of your PDA and run it. it will install tomtom on your PDA. > copy map onto the storage card.
Run tomtom and off you go!

Any problems let me know guys hope this helps and hope i been clear.

Thanks for the help. Very useful
 

ISHVIP

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 26, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I've manage to get tomtom 7 working with uk maps, but when I've tried central europe maps I get "map not found". I've tried quite a few different central europe match but still no joy anybody got any ideas. Many thanks
 

Davecmr

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Running App Version 7.450(9028)
United Kingdom & Republic of Ireland V715.1689 on a FS N560 but speed camera's are not working even though the files are in the map folder on the root of the SD card.

Can anyone help? Have I done something wrong?

Cheers
 

neil_cricket

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Hi
I've got the same problem, I have Australia maps and have them on the Root of the SD card. But when I run TomTom it says it can't find the maps.
I'm running it on a PDA with WM5.

The Tomtom version is v7.910.9185
The Australia Map version is Australia_815_2086

Any ideas what the issue is and how I can fix it.

Thanks
 

Balrock

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
OK guys I dont see this anywhere in the forums so decided to write one up. I've finally managed to install tomtom 7 on my pda (mda compact3).
So here goes:

1) Find the device ID of your PDA.
To do this you will need tomtom home from HERE

Install then connect your pda usig active sync.
It will recognise your device and after strting up, see the pictures below where you have to click.

2) Download TTN7.450.9028_repack.cab from somewhere (usual places, just search in google and you will find)

3) Download MAP. I got this one United_Kingdom_and_Republic_of_Ireland_v720.1802.

4) In the map folder you will find loads of files, we want the 3 files that end with META, PNA and DCT. Copy them to a another folder called "insert_meta_from_Map_here". <--- yes thats the name of the folder.

5) Go one step up from the folder you should have 4 files and one folder. the 4 files ar called:

DeviceID.txt
RunMeforDCT.bat
tt7_keygen.exe
meta.txt

and the folder is called:

insert_meta_from_Map_here

In the DeviceID.txt just copy and paste your device ID.
double click on RunmeForDCT.bat > select Option 1 > Follow instructions.
Once it has completed, go into the "insert_meta_from_Map_here" folder and copy the new META, PNA and DCT files into your map folder and replace them. > Your map is now ready.

Put the TTN7.450.9028_repack.cab into the storage card of your PDA and run it. it will install tomtom on your PDA. > copy map onto the storage card.
Run tomtom and off you go!

Any problems let me know guys hope this helps and hope i been clear.
Just like to say a quick thanks for the TUT, although i have one question.
Does your device use the full 7 digit postcode search as mine doesn't for some reason?
Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated?

Thanks
 

The Dentist

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
8,321
Reaction score
1,027
Location
London
Just like to say a quick thanks for the TUT, although i have one question.
Does your device use the full 7 digit postcode search as mine doesn't for some reason?
Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated?

Thanks

It does, but thats an extra. You can get the ZIP file and place it in the root of the sd card.
 
TEST
Top