TM800 - New Firmware (21.06.10)?

Malcolm-X

Member ++
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
471
Reaction score
3
Location
Where others dare to not go
Hi Guys,

I read on the one of the posts that someone had spoken to Technomate who informed them that there was some new firmware due out today??

Any news on this as I have checked the download centre and there seems to be nothing new on there.
 

axeman28

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
76
Reaction score
1
Thats what they told me when i rang them saturday saying i was having problems .He said wait till monday new software will be out .I said nothing is on technomate site and i can only find it on Digiworld ,he said thats a good place to get it from .I wonder if he was giving me BS .The Digidude will know ..
 

Malcolm-X

Member ++
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
471
Reaction score
3
Location
Where others dare to not go
Thats what they told me when i rang them saturday saying i was having problems .He said wait till monday new software will be out .I said nothing is on technomate site and i can only find it on Digiworld ,he said thats a good place to get it from .I wonder if he was giving me BS .The Digidude will know ..

I doubt Technomate will be BS-ing you mate, most likely there has been some form of glitch and they are resolving that!

Lets hope by the end of the month we get a full version out.
 

alfiezuk

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
I just spoke with technomate people at their warehouse, i was there in person so by monday they should have the uptodate image.
 

VectorZ

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,555
Reaction score
1,779
I'm getting a bit pissed off to be honest. Almost a month on and can't do even half the things it's supposed to. Feel like giving it a few more weeks and then they can have it back for a refund for selling something under false pretenses - I didn't mind waiting a bit but the speed and progess of the images is shameful.

Enigma 2 Open Source Linux System
1080p, 1080i, 720p, 576p & 576i High-Definition
1x DVB-S/S2 Satellite HD Tuner
320 MHz MIPS Processor
64 MByte NAND Flash & 256 MByte DDRAM
Internal SATA for internal 2.5" HDD
MPEG-2, MPEG-4 & H.264
Unlimited Channel Memory
SD to HD Hardware Upscaler
1x Smart Card Reader
2x USB Ports (for PVR, MP3, JPEG, Software Upgrade and more)
e-SATA
Ethernet Port
HDMI & Component Output
RF Modulator
2x Scarts
VFD Display
1W Standby
Optional WiFi module

The following formats are supported:

AVI, MKV, RM, MP4, Mov, 3gp, MPG, PS, vob, dat, ts, m2ts, flv, asf, wmv and wma

Video codec - MPEG2/4, H.264, H.263, WMV9, VC-1, Divx/Xvid and Real video

Audio codec - MP3, AC3, AAC, MP2, PCM, WMA and Real audioFi
 

alfiezuk

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
Yes i totaly agree but Tm they should of sort it out before realising the image for the box and not to use the public as beta testing.
 

LINUX DREAMER

Banned
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
290
Reaction score
7
blokeinkent

i think all you guys forgten how long it took DM to sort out thier imge
over last 5 years and still not ready.
i had tm800 since day i do not have any problem as i do not use it as a toy.
when i had it i knew it will take few week to get it ready so
i do not understand your frustration
if you think you want it ready on the plate then you should not buy linux
get none linux which is ready and working
 

Pakmoto

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
96
Reaction score
13
Location
Teesside
Like many other I'm looking forward to a fully functional image where we can use all the features this box has to offer,

but I suppose we all knew the crack with these STB's before we bought them.
 

VectorZ

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,555
Reaction score
1,779
blokeinkent

i think all you guys forgten how long it took DM to sort out thier imge
over last 5 years and still not ready.
i had tm800 since day i do not have any problem as i do not use it as a toy.
when i had it i knew it will take few week to get it ready so
i do not understand your frustration
if you think you want it ready on the plate then you should not buy linux
get none linux which is ready and working

Well if you read some of my posts you'll understand that I didn't walk into it with my eyes closed either, and though I'm more than happy to wait a few weeks for some of the more advanced features offered, progress is too slow. I can't even view it in the room it's supposed to go in as I can't get it to output 720p, in fact anything other than the default 1080i which isn't compatible with my display....... hardly a great ask or using it like a toy.
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Reaction score
332
I'm getting a bit pissed off to be honest. Almost a month on and can't do even half the things it's supposed to. Feel like giving it a few more weeks and then they can have it back for a refund for selling something under false pretenses - I didn't mind waiting a bit but the speed and progess of the images is shameful.

I was one of the people who asked for the TM800 to be relased before the firmware was ready, so I knew exactly what I was buying and I'm very happy with it.

However, almost all retailers are selling this box as if it is fully functional, no mention of it's Beta state and that is very missleading and downright wrong.

Your average Joe looking for a new HDTV Satellite box would easily be tricked into buying this box thinking it was fully functional. If I had bought one, not knowing the situation with the firmware then I'm afraid it would have been sent back the day after I bought it.

Currently, the TM800 does not do what it says on the Tin, and retailers not making this known to the buying public should be ashamed of themselves.
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,825
Reaction score
12,520
I'm happy to wait a while as I know working images take time,and as said many times over we all knew it was in beta stages when we purchased

my main gripe is the false advertising,wording plastered all over the box thats its an open source box when it clearly isn't :(
that was my main buying point in all honesty and feel a little let down by this,but there is already a thread about this by ellie1998 so don't wanna go off topic on this thread ;)
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Reaction score
332
Agree with the 'open source' bit. I'll wait and see what happens in that department.

Basically, I'm waiting until I get my Wifi adapter and the images are fully working then I'm flogging it on for a Vu+ Duo. :)
 

VectorZ

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,555
Reaction score
1,779
lol, let's hope that day comes before the Vu+ Quad* is released

*no numb nuts, there is no Vu+ Quad in the pipeline.... it was a joke
 

mattchris

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
191
Reaction score
2
Agree with the 'open source' bit. I'll wait and see what happens in that department.

Basically, I'm waiting until I get my Wifi adapter and the images are fully working then I'm flogging it on for a Vu+ Duo. :)

I thought they were going to start sending these out on the 15th of this month.
 

mattchris

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
191
Reaction score
2
Been told they won't be available till mid July now by TM!!

I hope in the next image they include drivers for wifi adapters because i have got a cable running along the floor in the lounge.

Forget about the image this box should never have released without the remote functions working properly.You can't record on to hard drive on fta channels plus many other functions don't work.

I am getting nothing more than i had on my trusty TM6900 HD.

I thought the people slagging off this box were clowns who's laughing now
 
Last edited:

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Reaction score
332
Forget about the image this box should never have released without the remote functions working properly.You can't record on to hard drive on fta channels plus many other functions don't work.


Did you buy the box knowing that it was still in development, or were you mislead by the false advertising that most sites are doing?
 

mattchris

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
191
Reaction score
2
Did you buy the box knowing that it was still in development, or were you mislead by the false advertising that most sites are doing?

Yes and Yes the images,emus are a bonus but as i said the basics functions should work.

You would not ship a quad core pc with 4gig of ram with only dual core and 2 gig of ram working
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Reaction score
332
Yes and Yes the images,emus are a bonus but as i said the basics functions should work.

If you bought it KNOWING that it was still a WIP then basically you should shut the fook up. No-one made you buy it.
 

mattchris

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
191
Reaction score
2
If you are so happy with it why do you intend selling it.


And by the way NOBODY tells me to shut the fook up who the hell do you think are
 
Last edited:
TEST
Top