Tips on 2nd hand car buying

fus10n

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for a car priced between 500-1000 quid. I'm hoping to find one with at least 10 months MOT, cheap to insure/tax and run. What things should I look out for when viewing a potential candidate? I'm no car expert, i know about tyre depth and the general stuff most people should know like tyre changing etc, but I'm no mechanic or car nut.

I think one of the most important things is to suss out the seller. In that price range you are going to get a lot of wheeler-dealers who have picked up trade-ins from a dealer or auction & tarted them up to look and run just well enough to sell. The "red light guarantee" applies - one the red light goes round the corner, that's your guarantee up!
Things like freshly-painted panels might hint that the car's been in a bump - not necessarily a bad thing if it was a light knock but it could be hiding something more sinister if the car's been in a smash.
It's always a good idea to take off the oil & water filler caps, the oil one should have a film of black oil on the underside and no white frothy stuff and the water one should not look a rusty colour. Look underneath the engine & gearbox for damp patches, check the clutch pedal doesn't feel 'heavy' or brake pedal spongy.
Ask to see the V5 and check that it's registered to the address and person who is trying to sell it. If they don't match it's not necessarily stolen but might indicate that the seller has just bought it to sell on.
Ask if they know the radio code and if there is a security wheel nut key. Service history is always good but seldom comes with cars in this price range.
If you get lucky you'll hopefully find a genuine family car that's due for upgrade & they just want to avoid being ripped off by WeBuyAnyCar or the likes.