Three ambits all usb but?????MORE POWER!!!!

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Likes
0
#1
Yesterday i had two 200 ambits going and doubled my upload speed on bitlord.
Today i got three going and it's only uploading on one??
All through usb.
Also when i do a speed test it will only give the speed of one.

Could i put them all through a router and have them going through one nic?

Whats the most anyone has had going at once?
Are the signal boosters any good.
I aint gonna stop untill i got five going.
It's gonna be like an fu**king xmas tree!!!!
Seeya.................
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Likes
0
#3
ah yeah bind my conections...??? oh! that old thing.

When i had just one modem i thought i would have to do something like that.
But yesterday when i cloned the first one and just pluged the subbed and the cloned in. i got 60KBs upload without doing anything.
i thought maybe the usb sorted it all out without doing anything.
I've only got one modem U/S led flashing.
I've got wingate.
But have'nt used it?????
Yet ????
 
C

cableguy69

Guest
#4
OK m8 by rights you dont get twice the bandwidth by simply pluggin em in. When using Wingate you still wont achieve the full potential of the two modems combined to do this you'll need a dual wan router or if you wanna be greedy get 4 modems on 10mb an put em on a quad wan router an have some real fun but it'll set you back a few bob ive also heard of a 5 port wan router so theirs just an idea of the speeds you can achieve but as for the christmas tree yes you probably will look like one on the network lol
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Likes
0
#5
well thats what i'm gonna do then.
I won't be happy untill i got five going.
How many untill i start to mely the coax???
cheers...................
 

FAGAN

Member +
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
529
Likes
3
#6
I think what your doing is a joke, there is no need for you to be connecting two, three or more modems on to the network - its on par with having free cable without even subscribing to the basic package.

Cable companies have a finite bandwidth and a trend of connecting 5 cloned modems running at full pelt wont only effect the companies but will also ruin it for every other user in your area, especially if more people start this silly practice.

What you are doing is greed plain and simple.
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Likes
0
#7
Yes i agree. But i'm a very greedy person.

What was the reason you came on this site
I think i'm gonna go on a porn site and complain about naked ladies.
Laters........................
More power Grrrrrrrr!
 

FAGAN

Member +
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
529
Likes
3
#8
No mate your missing my point, its not your fault - you were born greedy.

Most people on this forum will pay a monthly amount for their cable services - for example minimum digital channels, telephone and possibly 1Mb broadband - they will get one STB and watch the "extra" channels, some may even also clone a modem and run 2Mb broadband.

YOU are running or attempting to run 5 cloned modems - do you see the difference? No of course you dont, but I bet the majority of the members in here will understand what I am talking about.

Its called kicking the arse out of it - remember OnDigital??

Broadband is the only service keeping the large cable companies alive - see my point?
 

FAGAN

Member +
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
529
Likes
3
#10
Read the fourth paragraph of my last post again - your kicking the arse out of it.

Yes you are correct we are all taking something we are not really supposed to be - ie "extra" TV channels, possibly some members are also running faster broadband - the point being is that we are not - kicking the arse out of it..

There are guys advertising unlocked boxes - card unlocking services etc on E*ay - running several cloned modems from the same line is on par with these guys.

I am getting bored trying to persuade you, that what your doing will be detrimental to everyone, by all means steal a little extra bandwidth, yeah steal extra TV channels but dont be so bloody greedy.
 

L33tpL4y4

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
1,097
Likes
1
#11
Learning curve

name750 said:
So it's ok to be a little bit greedy?
And he has every right to do what he wants, its not like hes holding down your own bandwi so why are you so concerned, also when scanning for macs is it not better if you swap a high, see u want more speed, and i bet you would rather have a 3mb then 1.5 or 1mb, so if your able to connect 5 or 10 then why not, its all part of the learning m8. :BLOBBY:
 

FAGAN

Member +
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
529
Likes
3
#12
Yeah he isnt effecting my bandwidth but if he connects 5 cloned modems and then spends all day downloading with Bitlord then he is effecting the network for everyone on his segment.

I didnt say he could not do this all I am saying is that its greedy and WILL harm the service for everyone.

I have a cloned 200 sitting in front of me but I am using my subbed 1Mb connection - no need to run the clone to browse this forum.

Next?
 

L33tpL4y4

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
1,097
Likes
1
#13
FAGAN said:
Yeah he isnt effecting my bandwidth but if he connects 5 cloned modems and then spends all day downloading with Bitlord then he is effecting the network for everyone on his segment.
I didnt say he could not do this all I am saying is that its greedy and WILL harm the service for everyone.
I have a cloned 200 sitting in front of me but I am using my subbed 1Mb connection - no need to run the clone to browse this forum.
Next?

Well bet ur glad ur not on his segment then lol or ud be having a right fit, that’s up to him, I personally would not do it, as ud sit out like a sore thumb, but if he wants to do it, that’s up to him. Your entitled to your own opinion m8
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Likes
0
#14
Sore thumb??

When you say stick out like a sore thumb what exactly do you mean.

It's very important that i have five modems as i could'nt possibly wait 2 hours for the next episode of lost!!!
I must have it in 1/2 an hour.
cheers................
anyhow surely when the 10bm are common five x 1.8mb(that's the fastest i ever go is ) is only 9mb a sec.
I think i'm being reprived!!
 
C

cableguy69

Guest
#15
@ Fagan i in some ways agree with what your sayin an yes he will be affecting bandwidth but not on any great scale its just like 5 more people connecting up its not really kicking the arse out of it ive used teamed modems for downloading films and games using Wingate 3 modems running 4mb givin me about 9mb in total wouldnt advise leavin em running 24/7 and havent used them for months as im now quite happy with my 10mb clone and i think runnin 3 10mb clones is a bit ott but it would be a nice experiment lol any way everybody to their own.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#16
I agree m8 Nam750 ur taking the baltent piss m8 4 real like no need to kick the ass out of it eh?. Like if ur on 1meg and pay for it go to 3meg but dont take the piss we aint in the usa m8 where every f00kerz got 100mbit lines comeing out there ass capice? sorry to swear but its people like him who get people who just want a bit of tv like me hung rwan and quarted.
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Likes
0
#17
Ok so long as it's only me it will be ok.

I got this thing in my head that i wanted to run five modems at once to see what speed i could get.
It's what blokes are all about.
I also got an eight foot projection screen so i suppose i am that kind of person.
It looks like i'll only manage four cos thats the wan router i'm getting.
Coming on her for me is just about learning something new and passing the time.
i did'nt come on here to argue with anyone.
There's a forum for everything else . Maybe there should be one for arguing.
Like that monty python sketch.
"Have you come for a 5 minute argument or a ten minute argument??"
I'll take a picture of the ambit 800(4x200) when i've made it and you's can all have a laugh.
Give it six months and it will be collecting dust in the loft.
The most i've ever got on a high mac is 1.8 mb so 4 x 1.8 =7.2 so all you buggers(lucky buggers ) witn 10mbts are doing woarse than me.
Now i'm never gonna argue with anyone on here ever again cos that's not what it's all about.
Unless you say my Mum wears army boots.
Then your for it.
Laters.........................
 

Miles

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 8, 2005
Messages
29
Likes
0
#18
I say fair play to you. Have you ever tried uploading a DVD on a single 2Mbps/200kbps connection? I did, and it took me about 62 hours.
If you are going to be uploading, be it ftp/usenet/bittorrent whatever, you need at least 4 modems to get anything near approaching a decent speed!
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Likes
0
#19
Kicking myself!!

Just missed a 4 port wan router on ebay!!
Went for less than 11 quid!!
Set an alarm on my phone ,but my bro came around with all the kids and missed it!
Damn!
What do you use to combine the speed.
More power!!
 
C

cableguy69

Guest
#20
name750 said:
Just missed a 4 port wan router on ebay!!
Went for less than 11 quid!!
Set an alarm on my phone ,but my bro came around with all the kids and missed it!
Damn!
What do you use to combine the speed.
More power!!
11 QUID is seriously cheap for a quad wan router damn would of went for that meself if i'd known about it.
 
TEST
Top