• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

technomate v dreambox linux based stb

easymo3

Member ++
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
511
Likes
7
#1
hi,can anyone tell me what the difference is between the technomate 500 super and a dreambox 500,i have a spiderbox 900 at moment (great entry level stb) but i have got the bug now and want to expand,thanks inadvance.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
946
Likes
7
#2
Its really a matter of preference, I have both.

The Dreambox has better support, more images and more people fiddling about with it, and its smaller.

The Technomate in my opinion is a more user friendly box for the first timer.

To be honest both are very good boxes, there is still a little lip sync issue with the Technomate, it happens for a few seconds when changing channel. The DM500 sometimes locks up when you flick too quick through the channels.
Both these things may be fixed by using different images.

Oh if you are using it to read your card go for the DM500.
If only using as a client I would go for the TM500.

Just my opinion, I am sure others would differ.

Theblueirish
 

digidude

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,610
Likes
229
#3
ive had no problems reading a card on a technomate receiver

the picture is better on the technomate, and the sound is MUCH better, youre also not going to be getting a clone made from cheapo parts
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
946
Likes
7
#4
Agree with Digidude regarding the sound, far far better on the Technomate.
I haven't tried reading my card in the TM, what I should have wrote is that I have been told that the TM500 is not as good as the DM500 for using your box as a server.
I have not tested this myself, just repeating on what I have been told.
 

digidude

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,610
Likes
229
#5
i used a pre release TM500 as my server for a year, without a single issue. the actual tm500 that got released then had more memory etc, and the TM500Super has even more memory etc again. I have setup quite a few of them, all with no issues at all, after i initially spent 3 hours on the first one (Super) before working out that they had turned the card reader upside down D'oh!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
946
Likes
7
#6
Does it the super have more memory than the DM500?
I would consider changing as Oscam seems to use up most of the memory in my DM500.
 

easymo3

Member ++
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
511
Likes
7
#7
hi guys,thanks for your replies,i can get the technomate at trade but not the dreambox(my supplier does not sell them)roughly how much does the dreambox cost?(not interested in a clone)
 
Last edited:

gsmtech

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
3,166
Likes
40
#8
Software support and user community wise it's a no brainer...theres far more support and range if images / plugins etc for the Dreambox (Gemini, EDG Nemesis, Nabilosat, OpenPLI, etcc,) ... theres also the revival of neutrino with Commando images making a comeback.

Personally i've not had an issue with any Dm500/600 clones apart from a PSU which failed after 3 years of usage, even then as its an external PSU, it was an easy 45p capacitor replacment.

Any Dreambox 500 you buy now will almost certainly be a clone, Dream stopped making them years ago. Theres a DM500V8 newer clones with improved sound output and power switch etc.

I dont own a TM500 so cant give you a direct comparison, I can tell you that the software support and user community is nowhere as good, your pretty much stuck with poor quiality UR Team Software, theres no support from any other development teams....Have a read around a few popular forums, and you'll notice hardly anyone talks about TM Linux recivers, compared to the Dreambox sections on the same forums... Then theres also the CCCam server compatibility issues with TM500/600 that never got fixed even though I recall UR Team were supposed to fix this over a year ago...so basically you cant read certain cards with CCCam alone, you need to use a combination on NewCS/CCCam, im not even sure you'll even get auto entitlement updates with this setup though....so card will need to back into original reciever every month or so. (no such issues on a Dm500 CCCam works fine on all versions 2.13, 2.1.4, 2.2.1 in both client and server modes)..

Probably not an issue for you, if you only want a client reciever though...only reason I would consider a TM500 over a DM500 would be If I needed dual scart sockets.... Theres also a TM500 Super, newer model with extra RAM, but still same poor UR TEAM images...

A DM500S should cost no more than 50-60 quid delivered. You can probaly get a DM600 PVR with swappable tuners, extra RAM etc..for around 75ish..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
285
Likes
5
#9
Tm500 super has rf out as well. cccam isn't really an issue now is it? Doesn't a certain white card need to use oscam+cccam to read everything? could you not consider a dm600 as they have more memory than the 500 plus hard drive option.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
 

easymo3

Member ++
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
511
Likes
7
#10
what in your opions am i best buying, money not being an issue,the only issue is that i have no experience in the world of linux atm,
 

gsmtech

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
3,166
Likes
40
#11
Tm500 super has rf out as well. cccam isn't really an issue now is it? Doesn't a certain white card need to use oscam+cccam to read everything? could you not consider a dm600 as they have more memory than the 500 plus hard drive option.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
Indeed CCCAm issue may well become irrelevant for some...might be other cards though that cant be read directly with CCCAm affected by thiis issues.

The bigger issue is that the software support is poor, despte the CCCam thing being known about and reported over a year ago..it has never been fixed, the 16:9 Widescreen display issue only recently got fixed..after being reported months and months ago....

Yeah, agreed a DM600 would be well worth a look, for the extra RAM, swappable tuners etc..theres even a couple of Enigma 2 images which run on a DM600..
 

easymo3

Member ++
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
511
Likes
7
#12
thanks for all your input guys,at the moment it is looking like dm600,have to agree the support does look alot better and lets be honest i will need quite alot of support to start with.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
285
Likes
5
#13
Ive got a tm600 and considering upgrading now to HD. Staying away from the tm800 due poor support with ur being the only developer. So thinking of getting a dm800. If money isn't an option then that's a great intro into linux plus you can use certain usb sticks that do wifi or terrestrial tv. loads to play with.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
 

easymo3

Member ++
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
511
Likes
7
#14
thanks for that yosser,still not sure,are you looking at a clone or the original?there is a huge price difference and a few members have said that the clones are ok and then digidude has said he does not use one.
For me i need learn to walk before i can run so maybe a clone 800 for about £150ish could be the way to go.
just a thought,if i am going to spend £150 on a cloned box then should i go the whole hogg (i know it will be way over my knowledge base)and get the vu+ duo at roughly £300
 
Last edited:

mickbrush

DW Member +
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
1,320
Likes
6
#15
To be honest mate you would probably find it even easier to setup a VU+ than a DM500 due to the fantastic images and support such as VIX which has everything you could want including one of the best epg setups you will find on any linux box. pretty much an idiot proof box.
 

easymo3

Member ++
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
511
Likes
7
#16
To be honest mate you would probably find it even easier to setup a VU+ than a DM500 due to the fantastic images and support such as VIX which has everything you could want including one of the best epg setups you will find on any linux box. pretty much an idiot proof box.
thanks for that m8,i am going to get a linux stb and the reviews i have read for the vu+ stb are very good, in that they have been compared to the original dm800 at half the price.
If it is pretty much idiot proof then that is tipping the scales for me, because if or when i master the box then there are not alot of boxes better at the moment.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
285
Likes
5
#17
thanks for that yosser,still not sure,are you looking at a clone or the original?there is a huge price difference and a few members have said that the clones are ok and then digidude has said he does not use one.
For me i need learn to walk before i can run so maybe a clone 800 for about £150ish could be the way to go.
just a thought,if i am going to spend £150 on a cloned box then should i go the whole hogg (i know it will be way over my knowledge base)and get the vu+ duo at roughly £300
Looking at a clone dm800 with the new m tuner. Gotta agree if money was totally irrelevant I would get a vu+ looks awesome!

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,585
Likes
48
#18
I still think the clone DM800 is great value at around £125. I have aquired a few of these for me and freinds and not had any trouble yet except one psu which was no big deal really. That said my vu+ duo is the nuts!
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
302
Likes
3
#19
I still think the clone DM800 is great value at around £125. I have aquired a few of these for me and freinds and not had any trouble yet except one psu which was no big deal really. That said my vu+ duo is the nuts!
I paid about £200 for mine (DM800hd) can you please pm me where you bought them from cheers Bob
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
285
Likes
5
#20
I still think the clone DM800 is great value at around £125. I have aquired a few of these for me and freinds and not had any trouble yet except one psu which was no big deal really. That said my vu+ duo is the nuts!
Can you PM me a link also for a dm800 clone for around that price please.

cheers

Yosser