Site hacked

goalseeker

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Hi, I hope someone can help and give me some pearls of wisdom! Over the last ten years, I have built and managed a website for a small Association of European Counsellors. I have been lucky as the site has existed this long with no trouble to speak of. However, just over a week ago the site was hacked into and malware spread across files and databases and I am faced with trying to get rid of the malware completely closing all the back doors I can, ( I am unsure what a back door is). I may have a doctorate in Marketing and Sales but it was achieved before there was an Internet, I should say I am now 79. The Association has no money it ticks over from year to year in the true meaning of not-for-profit. There is not a member who is computer literate to help me and I am totally self-taught. For goodness sake I used a typewriter and pen and ink, if we went Tik-Tok it was because the clock was too loud!

Does anyone know where I can turn to? To have the site cleaned completely. I say completely because I know if I leave even one piece of spurious coding I am inviting the hacker back in. I know the site cannot be made 100% secure but I believe there are ways to secure it as much as possible. I have read the details from a number of companies who will clean the site but their fees are way too high for the association. I think the members believe I can do it myself. I cannot even get at the login screen and I do not know how to get around that but I understand it is possible.

I have used WordPress as a platform and Hostgator as a hosting company. Hostgator will only introduce me to a third party who will clean the site but in addition to their high one-off fee, they want an annual subscription to their service.