• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Setting up Nas drive

blinky3i

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
131
Likes
0
#1
Hi all
Just got my safecom Nas enclosure, inserted my old 80gb hdd connected to pc by usb windows finds it okay, am i right in saying it needs to be formatted in fat32?, i am trying to reformat this drive in the disk management console in xp and the only file structure it will give me ntfs, i have deleted the partion and i only get the ntfs option from the drop down box, am i doing something critically wrong here?
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Likes
194
#2
You will need to connect to it via ethernet and access the web interface to format it.

You should have got a manual or leaflet with the enclose that tells you it's current IP address. You will need to alter the ip address on your PC to match the subnet, etc of the enclosure. Once you have done this, enter the ip address into your browser and you will get the web interface. Use the web interface to change the ip address to what you would normally use for your network. After you do this, change your PC ip address back to what it was and you should again be able to access the web interface of the drive using the new ip address. You can now use the maintenance section to format the drive. There will also be a Samba section to create folders on the drive. And an FTP section so that you can create ftp accounts which will able you to access it over the internet from anywhere.

I have my NAS connected to my router and it's always on. :)

Hope this makes sense!
 

blinky3i

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
131
Likes
0
#3
okay thanks for that, that was easy plugged straight into my router and now i can access the nas, Can you pleasse help me with the settings for the dbox end, i have created a folder in the nas called recordings, my image is mod neutrino.dream plus. My network ip for the nas is 192.168.0.6. I have accessed the yweb interface and modyfied my previous mount which was recording to direct to my desktop pc's hd by wifi, new settings are as follows
typ ftpfs (i presume this is correct setting)
ip 192.168.0.6 (ip of my nas on network)
directory Recordings (created directory on the nas)
Local Directory/hdd/movie
mac 11:22:33:44:55:66
Option 1 rw,soft,udp,nolock
Option 2 nolock,rsize=8192,wsize=8192
automount on
username admin
password admin
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Likes
194
#4
Are you talking about a dbox or a dreambox? We're in the dreambox section but you say dbox?

Your File type should be SMBFS (Samba).
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Likes
194
#6
The file system on the NAS is Samba. If you use an enigma image there is an option for SMBFS on the web interface. I haven't used any of the latest neutrino images so can't say for certain what you use. I guess you just try each of them in turn to see if they work. Probably FTPFS or CIFS.
 

blinky3i

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
131
Likes
0
#7
oklay heres an update, installed dw 1.6 and got it working over my network NIce!!, or so i thought!, im getting the choppy breakups that i got with recording direct to my pc over wifi, idealy i don't need the nas to be wireless can i connect it straight to the dreambox using crossover?, if so is there a guide available
Thanks
 

bdos

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
22
Likes
0
#8
hi yes i connected NAS to dreambox useing a crossover cat 5 cable and it worked fine but can anyone tell me how to remove unwanted files useing my dreambox remote
 

bdos

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
22
Likes
0
#10
i set up the dreambox and the NAS as normal useing my router then disconected the router and conected the two boxes with the crossover cable
 

blinky3i

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
131
Likes
0
#11
That worked a treat cheers m8, be interested in your previous question of how to delete files without hooking back up to the pc?
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Likes
194
#12
Not at my box just now do can't say for certain...

Try pressing the BLUE button and selecting Tuxbox Commander. Navigate to your mount point, i.e. /var/movie and you should get your shared folder. There will be a designated number for delete, should tell you at the bottom of the screen...try deleting something from there. Maybe copy in a .txt file to test it. ;)

Also, while in File Mode, one of the coloured buttons might be used for delete but I wouldn't have thought so.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Messages
751
Likes
6
#13
Will be interested to know if your recording is better with just a cross over cable, it seems some nas drives find it hard to record/playback without blocking/freezing.

I have just ordered a top end NAS £150 (Synology 106) and am hoping that it will solve the bad recording problem, knowing my luck it wont:)

Maybe we should make a thread with good and bad nas units?

Frenchman
 

gers4life

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
112
Likes
0
#14
If anybody can point me in the right direction, trying to follow this but my head is getting sore.


mount manager i have
SMBFS
ip 164.254.0.2
dir recordings
local dir /hdd/movie
admin
admin
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Likes
194
#16
The ip address in the settings has to be the ip address of the drive you are trying to connect to....yours don't match.

Also the subnet mask should be 255.255.255.0
 

gers4life

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
112
Likes
0
#17
what about gateway and dns ?

5I'm at my tails end here, i've just about had it up to here with this piece of shite hardware, i've had to reset this bit of crap countless times, the nic connection is popping up saying system error something about the ip. arghhh.
 
Last edited:

gers4life

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
112
Likes
0
#18
Everytime i try to change the ip of the drive to the ip of the xbox, i then try to connect to that ip but never seems to work.

the ip of my xbox is 192.168.0.109
255.255.255.0
192.168.0.1
 

gers4life

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
112
Likes
0
#19
i managed to change the ip of the lan server to
192.168.0.109

I can access it through my pc's nic card if i change the nic setting to
192.168.0.101
255.255.255.0
192.168.0.1

Now i disconnect the cross over cable from the pc so its at one end of the lan server and the other end to the dreambox, i then set up ip settings, i then try to mount however it says

"SMBFS mount "192.168.0.109/recordings
/hdd/movie' FAILED!

FIXED IT :)
however i get jittery playback
 
Last edited: