Setting up an android phone

willin

DW Regular
Reaction score
I have recently broke my windows mobile phone, looks like I will have to get android or apple. I did try android a while ago for a very short time and hated it.
I would probably try apple but not at the prices they charge, so android it is, when I tried before I tried to set it up without enabling all the apps to know my location etc etc, which is probably why I disliked it because nothing worked.
I haven’t bought a phone yet (it will need to be soon) Tips/advice etc for set up and use for a complete novice with android please.

I dumped Apple a good number of years ago when a so-called 'update' effectively ruined my old iPhone 4 (yes, THAT long ago lol!), Android has come on leaps & bounds since then. My advice would be to grant location etc. permissions to start with then remove one by one if you so wish - some permissions can be set to 'on but only while app is being used' or something like that.
You can also delete a lot of the bloatware that most phones usually ship with to slim things down a bit. Plenty about that on the famous search engine.

Thanks for that, I have got a new android, and done more or less as you say, have eventually managed to get my contacts onto it using a famous search engine, but what a task from a windows mobile - I now want to move all my sms/texts but again is very difficult as WM apps are now virtually non existent.

I will have a pop at bloatware next ;)

I much prefer Apple but as you say cost is prohibitive so I went dow the Android route.

I have a trevertron says used the only when app is being used option where I can but also installed a VPN, not every app works with VPN especially my bookmaker ones but overall I think I am saved that way.

android for me is harder than Apple and the settings make no sense but there is a good search function and luckily these days the internet is full of helpful videos etc.

good luck with the new phone.