Secruity on IPTV enigma2

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
Hey,

this is just a general question about IPTV providers for enigma2 boxes. I recently tested out a few providers and a lot instead of providing me with a set of bouquets or .m3u file. gave me a command that downloads and runs a script.

Im no expert but from the little i know about linux the script installed a few plugins that did various things.

These things include but not limited to:
1 - a plugin for epg for IPTV​
2 - a plugin that download and installs all the IPTV channel list after every reboot.​
3 - possible cron task that runs a script​

please note this is just what i know the script did, it may have done more

i found all these plugins and removed them from my box manually as I couldn’t do it via the image. did a reboot and a channel list was not downloaded. So I thought that’s good I got rid of the stuff they put on the box.

A few days later was flicking thru the channels and noticed all the channels numbers were all over the place. i then seen that their channel list downloaded again. Im going to assume they installed a script that was configured to run on a cron task or something.

I then reverted back to a Backup before i ran their command. Now im all good again.

My question is should me and others who use IPTV providers be worried about security. What I know was done to my box may be only a drop in the ocean of what was actually done.

example of the command
cd /etc/enigma2 && wget -O /etc/enigma2/bs.sh "http://iptvprovider.com/bsdev/[email protected]:password" && chmod 777 /etc/enigma2/bs.sh && /etc/enigma2/bs.sh

I Recommend before you run any command from an IPTV Provider Do a full image backup

Im not entirely sure what they would gain by putting dodgy plugins or any kind of spyware onto an enigma 2 box.