Sata To IDE Problem

yottabit

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,604
Reaction score
22
Location
Nottingham
Hi there, i bought a dell the other week which is sata throughout, i have a 400gb hdd that was IDE and i wanted to install this in the dell but had to buy one of the following:
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n27/memamon/R0139072-021.jpg
So i got that this morning and fitted the 400gb hdd in the dell with the adapter, the sata from the adapter to the motherboard is plugged in but the power socket (the white socket on the pic above) will not fit anywhere as there are only sata power cables not ide power cables, so i was wondering what i need to do to get power to the hdd? would i need to buy a ide to sata power cable converter etc?
Answers greatly appreciated,
Thanks,
Nick.
 

yottabit

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,604
Reaction score
22
Location
Nottingham
Soz mate, I forgot to get back to you.

As I say, I have never actually used one of those IDE-SATA converters but I assume you may need one of these things:
http://www.cooldrives.com/seatasapoca6.html

Np mate, looking at this pic:
http://lib.store.yahoo.net/lib/cooldrives/P72550984.jpg
That lead dont look right, i thought there maybe a plug that will connect to the sata power cables in the base unit and then convert it to the ide power cable, but im not sure can you shed any light mate?
 

crashuk2k1

Member ++
Joined
Mar 8, 2006
Messages
218
Reaction score
19
Location
South of North
That looks spot on mate, i find it strange how it powers up via the adapter rather than a plug that goes in the back of the hdd, also the power lead coming from the IDE to Sata adapter only has two pins does that make a difference?

That adaptor in the link is for the connector that plugs into the hdd. You will also need a floppy drive power cable to plug into the converter in you first pic .To power that.

Type this in ebay " 4 pin molex IDE Power, Y splitter cable + Floppy way PC " without quotes .

you should find what your after .
 

yottabit

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,604
Reaction score
22
Location
Nottingham

yottabit

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,604
Reaction score
22
Location
Nottingham
just seen your last pic .

Try swapping the power cables on your dvd drive with the one on the sata hdd.

Theres is the sata cable and sata power cable plugged in the dvd drive so i cant see that working considering i cant use the sata power cable, so if im correct i should buy a cable that plugs in the back of the hdd power and is converted to sata and then the sata power cable will slot in there, then after that i should by an ide power cable with the y splitter for floppy etc but where abouts would it find the power as they are all ide cables?
 

crashuk2k1

Member ++
Joined
Mar 8, 2006
Messages
218
Reaction score
19
Location
South of North
remove the sata hdd power cable & plug it into the sata dvd. plug the dvd power cable into the hdd. then the floppy should reach .

then you just need to get power to the ide hdd .

lol
 
TEST
Top