Recover from rev3 image (password recovery)

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
Another forum released an untested image that had a bug meaning those who are lucky enough to have a new linux TM receiver found they were locked out of it by an image with an unknown password and unable to flash another image over it.

After 4 days and way too many beers, i finally managed to resurrect a receiver flashed with this image and get full access to flash another image onto it again. So what was the first thing i did, put the known problem image back onto it just to make sure i could verify what i had done actually worked.

If you are one of the unlucky people who flashed 2.0.20rev3 dated 12/5/2009 onto your receiver, heres how to fix it :)

digidude
 

TheDogs

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
54
Reaction score
2
Had no luck with my TM600 with this method so after more than a few hours ot trial and error i got this to work for me

Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.

Hope it helps
 

serkan1907

Inactive User
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I 'm trying to load channel list using dreambox edit but it says wrong user name password which i have root as user name and leave password blank and tryed few other things but had no chance can any1 help pls
 

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
Had no luck with my TM600 with this method so after more than a few hours ot trial and error i got this to work for me

Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.

Hope it helps

where line 1 says

root:$1$$I2o9Z7NcvQAKp7wyCTlia0:0:0::/:/bin/sh


if you just put in

root::0:0::/:/bin/sh

then the password will be blank m8
 

TheDogs

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
54
Reaction score
2
Tried that but with no luck got the " password not allowed" message.
So in the end got my m8's passwd file edited mine to be the same as his then used his pass to get access to the box.
Its the usual with me even the simple solutions are a pain in the but ...lol
 

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
ok cheers for that info m8, strange how ive done it here a few times on the 500 and 600 just to make sure before releasing the tut

over the weekend ill add the line you have put up in the tutorial if thats ok, saying that this is the encrypted string for 'password' and give you a thanks in the tutorial

if youve then put the tut onto another forum, you can also upload the newer one there, help as many people as possible who may have problems

dd
 

TheDogs

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
54
Reaction score
2
I tried everything and that was the only thing that worked.
Others are reporting that a flash with the newest image sorted it but not for me.
I tried it so many times that i thought i was going mental..lol.

Id be happy for you to add that solution m8...if it stops one person going through what i did then its served its purpose

Thanks
 

slyboxhd

Member +
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
414
Reaction score
77
Location
mars
Another forum released an untested image that had a bug meaning those who are lucky enough to have a new linux TM receiver found they were locked out of it by an image with an unknown password and unable to flash another image over it.

After 4 days and way too many beers, i finally managed to resurrect a receiver flashed with this image and get full access to flash another image onto it again. So what was the first thing i did, put the known problem image back onto it just to make sure i could verify what i had done actually worked.

If you are one of the unlucky people who flashed 2.0.20rev3 dated 12/5/2009 onto your receiver, heres how to fix it :)

digidude

@digidude
can i use this methold on my tm500hd as i cant set cam's etc as the image tm put on it is password protected and putting the image from download center on dont make any difference.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
possibly m8, what image is it? if its the SR image, then youd be better off reflashing with a different image all together
 

slyboxhd

Member +
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
414
Reaction score
77
Location
mars
possibly m8, what image is it? if its the SR image, then youd be better off reflashing with a different image all together

hello
Dd

the problem is that its the tm500hd and theres only one image that i can find for it in downloadcenter ( it is a ur image ) do you still have that back up image for the tm500hd?
 

slyboxhd

Member +
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
414
Reaction score
77
Location
mars
possibly m8, what image is it? if its the SR image, then youd be better off reflashing with a different image all together
@digidude

can you sheld some more light as to weather you have backup image etc???
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Shurufade

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 29, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
digidude
i can't seem to find pdf guide how to recover locked technomate500
please guide me or how can i find the pdf guid

thanks
 
TEST
Top