Optical Digital Audio to speakers

CrazyFool

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,531
Reaction score
38
Location
Lancashire
Hi Guys
I'm mounting my TV to the wall. Dont want the sound to go through the wall into the neighbours house so I want to kill the internal speakers and route the audio to speakers on the other side of the room.

Any advice please?
I dont have a headphone jack, only Optical Digital Audio. I dont want to invest in a sound bar or a media player of any sort, I dont want to control the audio with another remote. I want my cake and want to eat it too :D
 

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
15,297
Reaction score
5,258
You want your speakers at the other end of the room from the television? :eek:
 

bash213001

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
367
Reaction score
22
Hi Guys
I'm mounting my TV to the wall. Dont want the sound to go through the wall into the neighbours house so I want to kill the internal speakers and route the audio to speakers on the other side of the room.

Any advice please?
I dont have a headphone jack, only Optical Digital Audio. I dont want to invest in a sound bar or a media player of any sort, I dont want to control the audio with another remote. I want my cake and want to eat it too :D
you can get a bluetooth reciever/transmitter if your tv /soundbar aint already got it
 

JonMMM

DW Regular +
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,727
Reaction score
393
Hi Guys
I'm mounting my TV to the wall. Dont want the sound to go through the wall into the neighbours house so I want to kill the internal speakers and route the audio to speakers on the other side of the room.

Any advice please?
I dont have a headphone jack, only Optical Digital Audio. I dont want to invest in a sound bar or a media player of any sort, I dont want to control the audio with another remote. I want my cake and want to eat it too :D
what are the speakers connected to?
 

CrazyFool

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,531
Reaction score
38
Location
Lancashire
Thanks for the replys fellas

You want your speakers at the other end of the room from the television? :eek:
Not on the other side of the room per se, just stereo speakers, one on other side of the sofa.

you can get a bluetooth reciever/transmitter if your tv /soundbar aint already got it
What do you connect the bluetooth transmitter to? I've not got a 3.5mm audio jack on the back of the tellie. Only toslink/digital optical audio out

what are the speakers connected to?
Nothing at the moment, not even purchased them :D

Cheers
 

bash213001

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
367
Reaction score
22
connect your transmitter via toslink about 20/25 quid +cable but then you need bluetoooth speakers jobs a good un
 

Tamarc

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
1,941
Reaction score
802
you sure you aint got a 3.5mm connection on the tv,sometimes hard to see,have another look
 

CrazyFool

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,531
Reaction score
38
Location
Lancashire
Thanks boys.
Yup. I've checked and double checked. no 3.5mm to be seen on the tv.
I dont fancy the wireless route as I've already got copper wire routed all the way round the room under the carpet, just need the speakers and amplifier.

Anywho, I had a quick look at my dvd player and found this:
IMG_20180228_230323.jpg
IMG_20180228_230338.jpg

Can I run an optical cable from the tv to the dvd player, and then an analogue cable from the dvd player to the speakers?
Will this work?
Will I then have to control the audio from the dvd player and not the tv?

Thanks again

CF
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
4,338
Reaction score
2,373
Location
nr.Cov.... pure n*l
Doesn't work that way @CrazyFool. The optical ports come in 2 flavours, transmitter or receiver. The tv optical is invariably a receiver where it can receive signals from devices such as your dvd which will have a transmitting optical port.
You would use the optical port from whichever type of stb you have connected to your tv but ideally would have to go into an amplifier to drive your external speakers.
 

benny59

DW Member ++
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
5,156
Reaction score
22
Location
northwest
I see.
Thanks for the reply buddy.
Would this work?:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B073Y866J5/?tag=amazonmick223-21

How would I control audio?
Would it kill the TVs internal speakers?

Thanks

CF
Thanks boys.
Yup. I've checked and double checked. no 3.5mm to be seen on the tv.
I dont fancy the wireless route as I've already got copper wire routed all the way round the room under the carpet, just need the speakers and amplifier.

Anywho, I had a quick look at my dvd player and found this:
IMG_20180228_230323.jpg
IMG_20180228_230338.jpg

Can I run an optical cable from the tv to the dvd player, and then an analogue cable from the dvd player to the speakers?
Will this work?
Will I then have to control the audio from the dvd player and not the tv?

Thanks again

CF
wont work m8, "tv" is optical audio "out" , dvd is audio output connections only ??--------------you need audio inputs like whats on an amplifier

{ie, tv optical output to amp optical input etc etc}
 
Last edited:

CrazyFool

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,531
Reaction score
38
Location
Lancashire

CrazyFool

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,531
Reaction score
38
Location
Lancashire
Oh well. Back to the drawing board then lol.
What are my options?
I need to kill the TV speakers and need to have the audio controllable through a remote.
 

benny59

DW Member ++
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
5,156
Reaction score
22
Location
northwest
Oh well. Back to the drawing board then lol.
What are my options?
I need to kill the TV speakers and need to have the audio controllable through a remote.
you dont mention the make and model number of your tv ??????? some tv's allow you to disable the internal speakers if useing the optical port {check the tv settings m8 ??}

should work with the optical to rca converter if you can ??. do a search for twin optical optical input to rca converter if you want to connect your dvd aswell

i should mention, some tv's have fixed audio on the optical out and 3.5 jack, so you can't control the the audio from the tv's remote anyway m8

do a check on your tv's audio outputs ??? {otherwise you need an external device like an amp, or optical to rca with a knob to control the audio}
 
Last edited:

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
15,297
Reaction score
5,258
i should mention, some tv's have fixed audio on the optical out ...
All optical out is at a fixed level. You can’t alter the volume of ones and zeros.

A tv volume control can only alter toslink volume if it has an hdmi-cec link to an external device.
 

benny59

DW Member ++
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
5,156
Reaction score
22
Location
northwest
All optical out is at a fixed level. You can’t alter the volume of ones and zeros.

A tv volume control can only alter toslink volume if it has an hdmi-cec link to an external device.
haha. yes your right m8, {my setupup is an lg with hdmi-cec link}---i always thought optical was variable depending on manufacturer, thanks for letting me know
 
TEST
Top