OpenBox S9 - S12 Firmware

Exos

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
5,268
Reaction score
3,111
Location
Rat's Bedroom
I'm aware there maybe later FW revisions for the S11 and S12, however, i do own both an S9 and S10 and mine haven't seen a reasonable firmware update since December 2011. I've posted these as the last that I have tested. There are a few later ones for S9 "clone" boxes from AnonymouSX however these are based on the pre-updated interface.

I've actually tested this today having had to upgrade three S9's and an S10 to follow.

>-----------------------OpenBox S9 - S12 Firmware 18/06/12-----------------------<

FEATURES

1. Receive Digital High Definition (HD) and Standard Definition (SD) Satellite Signal
2. Supports DVB-S, DVB-S2, MPEG-2 & MPEG-4
3. Digital Video Recorder through USB (external flash or hard drive are not included)
4. The most affordable FTA HD receiver on the market today.
5. Worldwide compatible
6. Hardware Blind Search DVB-S and DVB-S2 (fast search less than 2 Minutes on most satellites)
7. Linux MIPS Operating System
8. STB main IC solution is ALI , demodulator model is M3501 from Ali
9. HD DVB-S2 SHARP 7306 Tuner
10. Multilingual support on screen menu (OSD): English, French, Deutsch, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, Danish, Greece, Portuguese, Finland, Holland, Turkish, Czech

The first thing to do is save the downloaded firmware file on a USB flash disk. Plug USB disk to the back of your receiver. It will be recognized by the receiver.

1. Before upgrade, do a Factory Reset:

* Go to TOOLS menu and click on Factory Settings
* Click Yes to continue. The receiver will go to factory default and restart.

2. Upgrade Firmware:

* Click on MENU and go to TOOLS menu again
* Scroll down to "Upgrade by USB"
* Click on START
* After the loading is completed, Accept the upgrade.
* The receiver will restart.

3. After upgrade, do another Factory Reset:

* Go to TOOLS menu and click on Factory Settings
* Click Yes to continue. The receiver will go to factory default and restart."

>-----------------------Channel List 08/12/2012-----------------------<

The TProg.dbs is a few months old and may need some updates (unless someone has a later one)

Favorites

Entertainment
Lifestyle
Movies
Sports
News
Documentaries
Kids
Music
Shopping
Religious
International
Gaming & Dating
Specialist
Adult
Regional
FTA
Sky Anytime
HD
Sports Interactive
BBC Interactive
Information
Bonus
Box Office
Irish
Testing
 

Attachments

Last edited:

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
it was old firmware with a newer channel list
the factory sites don't even have the feb 15 2012 firmware anymore.
There was april 2012 firmware posted on a factory site for the s9 but again it was old firmware from dec 2011 with an updated channel list.
Check the sys info screen to be sure,it's the only true indicator of firmware dates.
 

Exos

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
5,268
Reaction score
3,111
Location
Rat's Bedroom
it was old firmware with a newer channel list
the factory sites don't even have the feb 15 2012 firmware anymore.
There was april 2012 firmware posted on a factory site for the s9 but again it was old firmware from dec 2011 with an updated channel list.
Check the sys info screen to be sure,it's the only true indicator of firmware dates.
I will check it later, but I'm 99% sure I already did and it was dated June. I have the April firmware, but didn't try it, but this It also had the S10 GUI (which I haven't seen before on an S9)
 

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
only one of the three factory sites I had bookmarked had the feb 2012 file and nothing after that date.
 

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
it ran on my genuine s10 one time then said the receiver is a clone.
hope it didn't screw up my receiver.
 

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
for some reason it said my genuine s10 was a clone,but no damage.
It was never on factory sites so who knows where it came from.
It did say 6-18-2012 on the sys info screen but mst firmware tool shows all old dates for the chunks.
 

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
my s10 is chip id 085b,but with this firmware it says FFFF and kicks into clone detect when you cycle power.
 

jimbofz

New Member ++
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Hi my s9 original has s/w c2hs211.08.15 032 dcmt.
i havent upgraded for 18 months previous upgrade caused problems like no pic when in editing so made deleting chans with the remote a pain ,
so reverted to above s/w. my question is ,
has anybody managed to open anything with constant cw ? softcam works fine as does cccam.
i was thinking of upgrade to later f/w any arvice b4 i take the plunge would be appreciated
 

jimbofz

New Member ++
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
forgot to mention ,after updating biss keys regularly constant cw still wont work .im beginning to think that my software wont activate these keys ,just trying to open bbc on 27.5w,so has anybody opened this with s9?
 

jimbofz

New Member ++
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Hi did that s/w have softcam/
its just that my first f/w had no softcam option or constantcw in the menu.
can you remember the version number ?
or has there been any improved s/w in the last 18 months for the s9?
thanks
 

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
CHDS2_CMT_110404047A was the version number
You can't load the constant.cw via lan,lan support didn't start until may 5 2011 firmware.
 

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
make sure they didn't change encryption type.
They may not even be biss channels anymore.
 

jimbofz

New Member ++
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
thanks for reply mr slugworth
im confused ,im not trying to load the constant cw via lan ,but via usb?
on the s9 in the menu when i first loadad f/w the option for softcam and constant was not there.
so i tried a later version which is now on the s9 and softcam is fine but ive never opened anything with constant cw despite loading various up to date biss key lists.
i understand that some keys can last for a short time and have to be updated ,and ive always done this via usb pen .
so just so i can get my head around this,
does the later s/w allow keys to be entered another way other than usb? can you recommend the best f/w version to upgrade to .
 

slugworth

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
531
Reaction score
167
Location
New England
openbox has it's own format for cw keys.
Maybe the file you are using is the wrong format.
I mentioned lan because the lan manager program has a help section for each encryption type and has one on the proper cw format.
 

phyoepyaeaung

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Brother these firmware have include constant.cw and softcam.key function ???
 
TEST
Top