• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

DVB - PC Cards One to remember

JonMMM

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,376
Likes
47
#1
I brought a new AV amp yesterday and at the same time installed my PC with DVB card into the full AV system, wanting to watch the England v Wales game in HD on my PG.

So all went fairly well till I tried to start My Theater and got no picture or sound, tried several times till I realised on start up it was saying "off line". Looked in device manager and the DVB card had lost its drivers, reinstalled the BDA drivers, but still no luck. At this point I thought that I would install the origional software and drivers, well that worked and scanned, finding all channels but when I tried to watch a FTA channel (all you can tune into with the origianal software) nothing happens for a few minutes then a message comes up to say the signal is too weak, so unpluged me Dreamboxs and got ride of my spliter to find the same result.

Needless to going backward and foreward between drivers and software I missed the match - but giving the way it went that may not have been a bad thing: shocked2


Then a few hours latter with splitter and Dreamboxs reconnected I thought of System Restore and everything just worked.

Moral of the storey is to remember that System Restore is your friend: big crow
 

neathdrew

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,459
Likes
28
#2
mytheatre was showing "off-line" on my pc for a while yesterday but my internet service was down alsol, all tv signals were ok......all cleared laters though,


i think the problem was local though, well according to the VM peeps......unless u r in S Wales
 

neathdrew

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,459
Likes
28
#4
No it was definatly a PC problem as my dreams were working.
my dbox was ok during the internet downtime but as the dvb-c is a network card doesn't this rely on the internet connection working? i'm not sure but on my pc the card has it's own local area connection & ip addy.

anyhow glad to see u fixed it......
 

JonMMM

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,376
Likes
47
#5
Mine shows up under sound, video games controllers in device manager, although I have read that it is seen as a network card, but even so the card should be looking for the TS, and not be relient on internet access. In fact I do not have internet access though cable. I would be interested to see if other people cards are registared in device manager as a network device or a SVG contoller.b
 

JonMMM

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,376
Likes
47
#8
Interesting, Neat what card do you have? I also have a twinhan which is listed as SVG device, it would be nice to know what cards are recorded as one device and what are recorded as another, then workout the possible consenquenes.

To be honest I do not have enough knowlege but the info may help someone else which could help us all.b
 

neathdrew

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,459
Likes
28
#9
Interesting, Neat what card do you have? I also have a twinhan which is listed as SVG device, it would be nice to know what cards are recorded as one device and what are recorded as another, then workout the possible consenquenes.

To be honest I do not have enough knowlege but the info may help someone else which could help us all.b
it's a Technotrend DVB-C Rev 2.1 Premium card

i bought it of fleabay after reading the "watch nthell thread on pc" in dbox section. was interesting reading so i thought i'd give it a go.....using a softcam at the moment but going to give a hardcam (blue zeta) a go soon, all to finally build a htpc.....maybe
 

JonMMM

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,376
Likes
47
#12
Yes but it is listed under "Sound Video and Games (SVG) controlers" where other cards seem to be listed under Network Cards, and I wondered if this made any differerence.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Likes
72
#13
It makes no difference - its just the way the drivers work !

For cards listed as network cards all that happens is that the driver simulates a network driver. So, as far as applications are concerned, the datastream is coming from a network device which allows the applications to be fairly generic.

Some cards do allow you to use them as true network receiver cards but i've never seen such a facility used on a cable system (well, not in the UK anyway !). Its usually something that is used with internet over satellite (return path is usually a dial-in modem). This would suggest most of the present drivers are tailored for sat work rather than cable !
 
Last edited: