Old boxes are they working again?

tonks1982

DW Member ++
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
2,081
Reaction score
27
Posted in sat section by mistake.

A friend told me some of the old cable boxes are working again.

Are they?

I have a starview 2 and a Eurovox HD 7000.

My m8 has a old box and I know his is working but I cant rem the name of it.
 

cactikid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,742
Reaction score
450
unless they went fta,you cant view as those boxes have no lan port.
 

buzzer

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
8,204
Reaction score
3,901
Location
scotland
i seen a few posts about this a while ago.
it was claimed that these old boxes were clearing some premium channels.

it was only certain channels in certain area's

speculation was that for one reason or another, vermin had dropped the encryption. maybe doing maintanence or that.
 

tonks1982

DW Member ++
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
2,081
Reaction score
27
My firend has a Eurovox Max I think its called and he gets the freeview channels but now and again he gets the likes of Sky Sports. He is from Newcastle.

Does the Eurovox 700 have a lan port I cant rem?

Also what is a FTA @cactikid?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cactikid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,742
Reaction score
450
what do they call them the 1-5 channels,+ encrypted ones left open by mistake for a very short time,all pre n3 boxes did not have lan,can you remember shouts saying " need new codes" they rolled again :Laugh:
 

cactikid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,742
Reaction score
450
all boxes now need cable and internet,so empty your cupboards and attic and dump them
 

fes_786

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Messages
3,894
Reaction score
277
Location
uk
what do they call them the 1-5 channels,+ encrypted ones left open by mistake for a very short time,all pre n3 boxes did not have lan,can you remember shouts saying " need new codes" they rolled again :Laugh:
That's a bold statement

I can name 2 boxs that were pre n3 and have LAN
Dm500c
Dm600c
Dbox
Dbox2

Shit more than 2 there lol
 

cactikid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,742
Reaction score
450
meant more like starview,digivox,eurovox,early kryptview 700 for the masses,dm500c and others were more for the enthusiast not the newbie,sure the 500c still works
it all depends what people mass bought.
 

jamesyboyjim

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
5,235
Reaction score
1,452
Location
CWS =
If anybody ever tells you the old boxes are working again, hit them in the face with a frying pan. Virmin would have had to drop the encryption completely or decided to go backwards and reinstate nagra 1 which would mean a card change for legitimate customers. I guess from time to time encryption will be disabled on some channels if they are performing maintenance or testing something but it will never be for very long sadly.
 

fes_786

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Messages
3,894
Reaction score
277
Location
uk
I was on about the Linux boxs they are working via cs
 

jamesyboyjim

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
5,235
Reaction score
1,452
Location
CWS =
I was on about the Linux boxs they are working via cs
Ah right, thats a different story altogether, I was referring to the OP who I thought was talking about those plug n play boxes
 
TEST
Top