ntl firmware

gopher2005

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
871
Likes
2
#1
i was messin with my modem in hyperthermal and came accross this menu

Main Menu:
==========
d) Download and save to flash
g) Download and run from RAM
c) Store icePROM bootloader to flash
b) Boot from flash
e) Erase flash sector
m) Set mode
s) Store bootloader parameters to flash
i) Re-init ethernet
r) Read memory
w) Write memory

when i press d to download and save to flash i get this

Board TFTP Server IP Address [0.0.0.0]:
Enter TFTP filename []:

just wondering would it be possible to set up a tftp server and force the modem to take firmware? any thoughts?
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#2
i think u may have a point? lol :D try it and see what did u type to get that command list m8tY?
 

gopher2005

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
871
Likes
2
#3
well you no when it firts boots in hyperthermal and it says

press 1,2 or p or take default well press p straightaway

then it will ask for board ip just press enter 3 times then it should load up the menu. i should note that i did this on a ambit 200.give it a try.
 

theayatollah

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
46
Likes
0
#4
I found this earlier on my ambit 200, it first asks you if you want to change the boards mac address, I did that and then used the write option from that list above, it crashed the modem and now it does NOTHING!!! be careful with this menu it may fook your modem!,

hope someone can find a way to use it though.
 

gopher2005

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
871
Likes
2
#5
yeah i acidently erased a flash sector on 1 of my modems lol now its foocked lol but i will try tfttp sever tomorow n c what happens? ntl must use this menue to update the modems so there must b a way?
 

theayatollah

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
46
Likes
0
#6
lol.. think mines a paperweight, I can't get readings off hyperterminal anymore,

and how do you "accidently" erase a flash sector? LOL
 

crackerchalk

DW Member ++
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
1,931
Likes
41
#8
Hi all
I have a 200 with that firmware on it
Its very similar to the 250
After reading a few tuts i found
It looks the same as a sb5100
What ever u do dont press c
Makes it a paperweight
if u enter the Board TFTP Server IP Address [0.0.0.0]:192.168.100.1
then press s to save it
But as i said i think it will have to be done like the sb5100
i.e erase a sector then load a new 1
 

gopher2005

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
871
Likes
2
#9
il give it a go later n c what happens! plus i think you cnt erase a flash sector i did it and the modem wouldent boot at all?
 

gopher2005

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
871
Likes
2
#10
well iv tryed and have set up a tftp server but when i tell the modem to download computer saying ips r conflicting? has anybody else tryed?
 

crackerchalk

DW Member ++
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
1,931
Likes
41
#11
Hi again
Does the Hyperter text look like this
Detected CPU .............. BCM3348A1
Ebi Initialized .....................000002020000001C
Sdram Initialized....................
Icache Size: ....................2000
Icache Linesize:.................0010
Dcache Size: ....................2000
Dcache Linesize:.................0010
Sdram access OK......................
Compressed Bootloader detected.......
ImageCSize: ...................007666
ImageLoc: ...................81F80000
Decompression Status: .......00000000
Dcompressed Image Size:......00014995
BSS Initialized......................
TMP Stack initialized................
Perm Stack initialized...............
MemSize: ......................... 8M
Flash detected @0xbe000000
Signature: 3348
Broadcom BootLoader Version: 3.13.2
Build Date: Dec 28 2002
Build Time: 12:22:36
Image 1 Program Header:
Signature: 3348
Control: 0000
Major Rev: 0002
Minor Rev: 0000
Build Time: 2003/7/16 09:12:24 Z
File Length: 906823 bytes
Load Address: 80010000
Filename: vxram_sto.bin
HCS: 3639
CRC
Image 2 Program Header:
Signature: 3348
Control: 0000
Major Rev: 0002
Minor Rev: 0000
Build Time: 2003/7/16 09:12:24 Z
File Length: 906823 bytes
Load Address: 80010000
Filename: vxram_sto.bin
HCS: 3639
CRC: 69db5de2
Enter '1', '2', or 'p' within 2 seconds or take default...
. .
Board IP Address [192.168.100.1]:
Board IP Mask [255.255.255.0]:
Board IP Gateway [0.0.0.0]:
Board MAC Address [00:d0:ff:FF:FF:FF]:
Internal/External phy? (i/e)
Init EMAC, DMA, and MII PHY...
Autonegotiation started, waiting for completion...ERROR: Autonegotiation timeout
...
MAC setup for HalfDuplex
Main Menu:
==========
d) Download and save to flash
g) Download and run from RAM
c) Store icePROM bootloader to flash
b) Boot from flash
e) Erase flash sector
m) Set mode
s) Store bootloader parameters to flash
i) Re-init ethernet
r) Read memory
w) Write memory
Cos its similar to a sb5100 tut i found
See here
http://www.world-of-digital.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=8236&d=1113298114
Only difference is halfduplex and if u check here
http://www.world-of-digital.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59077
You will see that a 250 is also similar
My question is if so cant they be cloned like that
Before i try it i was wondering if that tut works
And can anyone explain how it loads the new firmware
 
TEST
Top