New House Help

Bulla1983

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
All

I recently moved into a new house with 4 CCTV cameras and a digital recorder system (picture attached)

The old seller told me that his cameras fed straight from the DVR into the bedroom and that all I had to do was insert the aerial into my TV and the camera would appear as a TV channel

I have tried to do this but my TV is not picking up any CCTV channel. I believe this is because my TV only has a digital TV tuner inside and the CCTV signal may be analog (does this seen sound right?)

There are two aerials feeding out of the wall in the bedroom (pictures attached)

I thought one might be a BNC and bought an adapter but apparently not so had to return this

Sorry this is completely new to me so any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Dave
 

Attachments

satp55

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
55
Reaction score
22
All

I recently moved into a new house with 4 CCTV cameras and a digital recorder system (picture attached)

The old seller told me that his cameras fed straight from the DVR into the bedroom and that all I had to do was insert the aerial into my TV and the camera would appear as a TV channel

I have tried to do this but my TV is not picking up any CCTV channel. I believe this is because my TV only has a digital TV tuner inside and the CCTV signal may be analog (does this seen sound right?)

There are two aerials feeding out of the wall in the bedroom (pictures attached)

I thought one might be a BNC and bought an adapter but apparently not so had to return this

Sorry this is completely new to me so any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Dave
Hi there,
As far as I know, your fourth picture,
32D8A9C5-D632-4B6B-BF1C-A3F01B6E8A01.jpeg seems like an aerial connector (coaxial) and either a satellite or cable connector(F Type connector). These type of wall sockets are normally found in purpose built multi flats with a common aerial and a satellite or cable connection for all flats. I may be wrong, and if so, I apologise, but hope someone more knowledgable will correct me and enlighten you further. As for as the CCTV is concerned, you might have to follow the wires and work out the system layout so you can start it up. Again, if someone know better, please correct and advise.
 

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
15,260
Reaction score
5,192
I think you could be right about the analogue/digital thing. It would depend on how old the system was.
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,948
Reaction score
4,244
Location
Airstrip One
Do you have an old VCR squirrelled away anywhere @Bulla1983? You could use that to convert the probably analogue CCTV to SCART or composite just to test. If your TV supports either of those.

I'm sure it's only me that hoards this stuff...
 

piggy13

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
95
Reaction score
72
Dig out your TV manual or download it, there you will find if you can tune in analogue channels and how to.......

I have panasonic. lg and sony tv's with digital tuners, they all support analogue.
 

Bulla1983

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
That's done it. Brilliant! Got 4 working CCTV camera on the bedroom TV

Thanks piggy/all
 

piggy13

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
95
Reaction score
72
Glad you got it sorted.........................
 
TEST
Top