• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

CD & DVD Need firmware for NEC DVD Writer

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,297
Likes
139
#1
I have got a NEC DVD RW ND3530A but for some reason it will only write at 4x on my 16x Maxwell DVDr's

I tried installing a firmware update but im sure I was downloading the wrong thing... Does anyone have the latest firmware for this. Either a link or attach file here if possible.
 

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,297
Likes
139
#3
Tried it but the firmware for my drive doesnt work, found a custom firmware on google and that has flashed correctly but havent tried burning yet.
 

pootas

DW Member ++
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
1,597
Likes
26
#4
If you don't get any joy with the firmware you found via google try this one

Link

It's from The Dangerous Brothers so you know it's a good firmware ;)
 

DEE747

DW Member +
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
1,526
Likes
12
#5
are u using the right disc`s ?? i was using -rw and would only write at 1x but put +rw in and writes at 4x just a thought ?
 

thomson

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
3,495
Likes
7
#8
I have got a NEC DVD RW ND3530A but for some reason it will only write at 4x on my 16x Maxwell DVDr's

I tried installing a firmware update but im sure I was downloading the wrong thing... Does anyone have the latest firmware for this. Either a link or attach file here if possible.
ive a funny feeling that the disks are your problem mate, try some other brands etc just to check, its very very seldom that you need to install any updated software for a dvd drive.

let us know the outcome please.
 

blackbeard

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
138
Likes
3
#9
This site has lots of NEC original & Modified DVD Burner Firmware.

If this does not work, try another brand of disc to see if you can get 16X
 

blackbeard

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
138
Likes
3
#10
Sorry forgot to give you most important info.
Check that the mediacode is correct. Occasionally media is incorrectly Identified. I use DVDIdentifier, to make sure code corresponds. If you are not sure how here is a tutorial .

Another quick way is simply take a disc to another burner, e.g. work, friends and see if you can burn at 16X. If you can then you Know the prob is with your burner, if you can't probably a disc prob.
 

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,297
Likes
139
#12
Ok looks like iv messed up my drive the other day when I used Liggy's and Dee's IOData OEM firmware 3.23 for the ND3530A I used http://liggydee.cdfreaks.com/disclaimer/en/3530a/323_fast.zip.html and the firmware updated without problems, but I never tested my drive.

Now I have noticed it wont read disc however when I put blank dvd in it says it can write at 6x but have not tried didnt want to waste a dvd.

These same discs work in my other computer which has a pioneer burner and they write at 16x

Problem is now I cant change the firmware because it will keep failing also noticed the dvd drive makes a wierd noise now when I put cd oh yeh and when computer is first booted. Thinking about it it stays on the first bios screen for ages aswell. Argh lol what have I done.

A stupid mistake I made to was I forgot to dump the original firmware before flashing 323_fast.bin but even so it wouldnt of made a difference because it wont let me flash with anything else.
 
Last edited:

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,297
Likes
139
#13
Anyone know how I can fix or does anyone have one of these drives and are able to dump their firmware for me?
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,698
Likes
349
#14
See if any of the methods this guy used fixes your problem: _http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=137144

NB Anyone flashing an optical drive should make sure that its empty before flashing the firmware.
 
Last edited:

davidh

<font color="RED">Administrator</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
14,954
Likes
119
#17
I have got a NEC DVD RW ND3530A but for some reason it will only write at 4x on my 16x Maxwell DVDr's

I tried installing a firmware update but im sure I was downloading the wrong thing... Does anyone have the latest firmware for this. Either a link or attach file here if possible.
looking at spec for this writer

here


DriveNEC ND-3530A

+RW 8x (11 MBytes/sec)
-RW 6x (8.2MBytes/sec)

it will write to +rw at 8x and -rw at 6x on dvd's
so why r u tring to write at 16 times
it wont do it

the 16x on the dvd means that the disk is capable of writing at this speed if ur dvd writer will write at this speed
 
Last edited:

davidh

<font color="RED">Administrator</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
14,954
Likes
119
#18
u could try original firm ware


http://www.micheldeboer.nl/firmware/3530.html
got them all orig & modifiyed

etc etc

use the flasher out of here to flash the original bin

this is an true dos flash and the dvd writer needs to be on primary slave

true dos not dosbox
make a 98 boot disk and use that
 

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,297
Likes
139
#19
The problem is this pc doesnt have a floppy drive. Is there another way, got a usb stick will that do? Do you know what the correct command is to flash the drive.
 

davidh

<font color="RED">Administrator</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
14,954
Likes
119
#20
The problem is this pc doesnt have a floppy drive. Is there another way, got a usb stick will that do? Do you know what the correct command is to flash the drive.
i think u can flash from the usb

have a look in the xbox 360 section it is in there


sorry just read the dvd needs to be as secondary master
so remove all except the secondary master
remember to change the jumpers on the dvd writer

command to flash the drive is
1: nec3530a -sec -mas -flash 3530ORIG.BIN <<< if going to use orig
2: nec3530a -sec -mas -flash 3530FAST.BIN <<<if using the lock patch
3: nec3530a -sec -mas -flash 3530RPC1.BIN <<<if using the rpc1 and lock

to make a back up use nec3530a -sec -mas -out BACKUP.BIN



here is the boot maker have a read
 
Last edited: