nbox 5800sx HELP!!!

Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
0
Likes
0
#1
Hi all.

After successfully sorting my own Amiko Alien 2 out. I bigged myself up at work, two lads bought a nbox 5800sx each and asked me to set it up for them.
After downloading CrossEPG to flash memory (schoolboy error). Both boxes are now unuseable!
I am desperately trying to find images to reflash to the box, but cant find any!

Once I find one, is it a straightforward process to flash like the alien2 i.e usb in the back and hold down ok button etc. or is it (as i suspect it will be!) a bit of a pain?!

Pointers to where the images are would be helpful! (would I be able to use an image for another box?)



Cheers

Matt
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#2
Do you know what image it had installed.....what does it say on the front of the box?

As these boxes have duo multiboot installed and if you install the wrong image it will do more damage
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
0
Likes
0
#3
ok. they both have openpli. one of them, i havent gone into the bootloader at all (just wants reflashing). the other one, ive kind of messed about with in a blind panic! it says nbox on the front.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#4
if you want to put a good stable image on i would recommend Hyperion V4...as that's based on openpli i have mine setup to run via USB.....but you will have to flash to NAND (internal flash) as it should clear the data first

does it say nbox...then NAND? or nbox....n-somethink else?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#6
Looks like you have duo multiboot v2 and looks like ones set to free box and ones set to b4t

Will post you a pm to read

You need to decide what image you want to install and change to the correct boot loader

The n- stands for NAND internal flash memory
 
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
0
Likes
0
#7
thank you! im happy to try the hyperion, as the guys at work didnt know what was supposed to be on it anyway!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#8
Ok it's a good image..you need to pull the power lead out then press the arrow up key on the front of the box next to the ok button and keep it pressed in....then plug back in

It will then go through your options you need to look for b4t or b4u then press ok.....this will change the boot loader for Hyperion

You will also need the set where the image is installed and boots from, repeat the same but this time you should have different options you need to look for n- Hyperion then hit ok

You can now install the NAND version of Hyperion v4

Give me a min I will put the link to download

Download PKT_NBOX_E2_HYPERION_v4_NAND.zip from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way



To upload to your Nbox be sure that you have B4T uboot preinstalled or duo multi uboot.
If you using duo multi uboot change to B4T uboot.

How to install

We need:
Pendrive formatted to FAT32
File with hyperion unzipped see above.


Extract files to your pendrive.
Should be on pendrive 3 files:.....to just the root not in a folder

rootfs.img
uImage
update


Connect your pendrive to receiver. Connect power supply and when on screen is nbox messange pressing arrow up and go to UPDATE than press OK.
Wait until screen show OK. Disconnect power supply and connect again. Pressing arrow up to to N-Hyperion and press OK.

i have also posted the update file you will need it the hyperionandlater_update file you need

good luck
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
0
Likes
0
#9
thanks very much! i really appreciate it. im going to give it a go when the mrs goes to bed. ill keep you posted.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#10
When you have it up and running you can install rats updater and picon updater, or E2 auto bouquets, TS media, IPTV player, bbc I player, itv player,
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#12
you dont need to..skip that part, down load rats list or E2 autobouqets list...and it will create your channel list for you.........you have to FTP some the others like TS media, iptv player are in the plugins download folder....press opt....plugins.....green button....BBC I player and itv player have to be FTP over

login....root
password...pkteam



checkout rats signature


ftp to the location the same as the file structure usr/lib/enigma2/python/plugins/extensions

And copy the script part to usr/script

When your done reboot and go into your plugins list you should have rats bouquets plugin updater and rats auto picon updater

you may have to set your picon location in the blue panel mines set to HDD/picon

Good luck
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
0
Likes
0
#13
noob time again. Ive just extracted rats bouquets to desktop. I cant find any script part, just a load of files. am i missing something?
 
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
0
Likes
0
#15
okay, ive got them installed. im not familiar with rats bouquets as i run autobouquets on the alien. How can i change regions? and also how do i change categories in epg? ie sports, movies etc. sorry for being a pain mate, but i really do appreciate it! i see youre inthe NW. if youre ever down south MCR way, ill buy you a beer or two!

ive sorted the selecting bouquets in epg issue.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#16
No problem bud....I needed help when I first got my boxes, rats channel list is easy to install..just to get it up and running

I use E2 auto bouquets also as you can set it to auto update and you can set regions. It also uses the channel numbers as sly

I will find the file and post for you





you need to unrar the file, then copy via ftp the file named "enigma2-plugin-extensions-autobouquets-e2_201310201900-r1_sh4.ipk" to tmp/ folder then install via the blue panel..... ipk install



if it wont install you can FTP over then reboot

copy over by ftp the file "autobouquets_e2.sh" to the folder usr/script

and finaly copy the folder "AutoBouquets" to usr/lib/enigma2/python/plugins/extensions

thanks goes to LraiZer
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#18
How to install any USB/HDD compatable image and run from USB due to limited NAND flash memory



you would be better installing to USB as the HDD will be going all the time

This can be done from within the PKT Blue Panel. I use image hyperion V4…….or any nand image boot the box into nand

Copy over the USB version of your image (hyperion USB/HDD version) to your hard drive media/hdd/ (not in a folder)

Use the Disk Manager (inside Install Manager) press the blue button and create new partion make sure you select sdb1 (sda1 is your hard drive)

You can make 2 partitions sdb1 and format ext3 and sdb2 swap give the rest of the free space....i do 50/50 4GB flash stick


It should say making partion then formatting (just make sure you don’t format sda1 as you will loose you recorded programs)

When done back out and select install manager…you should see 2 setting the top one is were to install to sdb1 the bottom should be your hyperion V4 USB image off you hard drive you ftp over

Then press the red button to install the image to USB

If you have a USB stick you must select USH1 to boot into not nand

you can then install as much as you like it also has a lot more swap file
 
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
0
Likes
0
#19
I cant tell you how much of a lifesaver you are! Thats one box done and dusted! is there a way i can back up what ive done on this box to install in to the other box (if it still works?)
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
386
Likes
13
#20
Yes you can save the image, you may have to create the folder backup to the same place as you movies are saved HDD......press opt......pkt blue panel.....system.....backup manager......enable all.....hit green...it will take about 30 mins

Also if you want to setup the other box the same to save time you can use the backup from one to another.....you will have to make sure you rename full-backup2014467886 to just......backup and it's file type
 
Last edited:
TEST
Top