my first DM

lefty1

Inactive User
Reaction score
hi there everyone,

i just bought my first dreambox....

i've read the tut on how to setup a dm500c with enigma...it seems quite complicated and also my tv connection is downstairs and the pc connection is upstairs!!! - but i need to connect the two together!

A bit of a bother to take the pc downstairs!

arghh...

I thought it was plug and play? i guess when the (keys?) role i'd have to flash the box?

Could someone please post a link or guide that is easy to follow? I heard satchmo;s guide is good, but can't find it...

Last edited:
yeah i found the guide a bit confusing. so im quite confused on why i need to simultaneously connect the box to my pc and coax.

plus what's the latest image?

im a complete noob at dm...so no good with jargon either.

do i have to connect the box to the pc as well as the feed at the sametime? i tohught i'd need to connect it to the feed only when scanning for channels?

Does it matter which image i use?

when the keys role does this affect the image and are new images formed as a consequence?

Can I still use the image stated in DevilFish's tut..and would the DM work with all channels?

Hi rachit

You only need to connect to your PC to set up the Image, after that you just need the cable feed.

Regards

Wizard

I could be wrong, but can't think of a reason why it needs to be on stream while being flashed, I know that I have FPTed it while off stream.

Try it and see, if you brick it there are easy ways to unbrick it. (you may wish to wait for another reply 1st though)

Lattest image DW2.0

I could be wrong, but can't think of a reason why it needs to be on stream while being flashed, I know that I have FPTed it while off stream.

Try it and see, if you brick it there are easy ways to unbrick it. (you may wish to wait for another reply 1st though)

Lattest image DW2.0

Okay quite a lot of jargon there.

what is bricking?