MS pulls plugs on XP SP3 mass launch

little_pob

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
2,476
Location
mmm....padded walls....so soft...
'Compatibility issues' delay Windows update

Microsoft has pulled the general release of Windows XP service pack three (SP3) at the eleventh hour, blaming a “compatibility issue” for the cock-up.

The software giant said late yesterday it was suspending mass download of the long-awaited service pack while it investigates the problem between its point-of-sale app – Dynamics Retail Management System (RMS) – and both XP SP3 and Vista SP1.

It said in an email that the update, which was released to manufacturing and volume licensing customers a week ago and was supposed to be generally available from yesterday, will not be pumped out to the masses via its Windows Update (WU) website as planned until the company fixes the bug.

However, the firm hasn’t pinpointed when XP SP3 will be available, much to the chagrin of Vista-shy customers who have been patiently waiting for the update to land.

“In the last few days, we have uncovered a compatibility issue between Microsoft Dynamics Retail Management System (RMS) and both Windows XP SP3 and Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1)," said the firm.

"In order to make sure customers have the best possible experience, we have decided to delay releasing Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) to the web.”

It also said that filtering would be put in place “shortly” to prevent WU spitting out both service packs to systems running Dynamics RMS. Once that tweak has been made, XP SP3 will be made available online.

Microsoft added that customers running its point-of-sale app, which is used mainly by small to medium-sized retailers, should swerve installing the service packs on either OS until a fix has been provided.

Redmond pushed back the release date of XP’s final service pack several times, and was supposed to be withdrawing sales of the operating system from the market at the end of June.

But earlier this month Microsoft, in a somewhat embarrassing U-turn that suggested the firm was pricking up its ears and listening to unfavourable customer feedback about Vista, said it would continue to sell Windows XP Home for bargain basement PCs beyond its scheduled 30 June kill-date .

Just last week Microsoft boss Steve Ballmer hinted that XP could be reprieved from end-of-life if enough customers demand it. ®

By Kelly Fiveash
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/04/30/xp_sp3_delayed/
Published Wednesday 30th April 2008 09:04 GMT
 

little_pob

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
2,476
Location
mmm....padded walls....so soft...
Apparenlty SP3 for x86 versions of XP can still be downloaded from the MS site: http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/software/svpk/2008/04/windowsxp-kb936929-sp3-x86-enu_c81472f7eeea2eca421e116cd4c03e2300ebfde4.exe
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Reaction score
332
I installed a beta version that was perhaps 2 releases ago and I had terrible trouble setting up my wireless network. I was running XP2, I downloaded the XP3 beta, installed it and rebooted and my entire network was fooked up, I go the wired network up and running ok but my wireless would just hang while 'establishing a connection', I rolled back to non SP3 and my network burst back into life.

I remember a few other people saying they had the same problem, I'm wondering if anyone else that had this issue can now confirm that the gold edition has fixed this?
 

samir12

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 8, 2005
Messages
178
Reaction score
0
Location
Earth
Well I installed service pack 3 downloaded from the microsoft site and it works fine. I have wireless and it still works, didnt have to do change anything. :)
 

samir12

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 8, 2005
Messages
178
Reaction score
0
Location
Earth
Lol i cant really say the differences because i dont know altough i did notice a small performance increase.
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Reaction score
332
Well I installed service pack 3 downloaded from the microsoft site and it works fine. I have wireless and it still works, didnt have to do change anything. :)


Urm yes, very good.

However, I did ask if anyone else who had this problem previously has noticed an improvement.
 

Dazza

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
66
what are the differences in xp now then?

i may install if it's worth it

From what I can gather, it just contains all the previous patches pretty much. When installed it removes many previous patches, and gives the system a bit of a tidy up before re-applying the patches under the guise of the service pack... (If that makes sense?!)

(This what I've seen else where BTW...)

However...

I've just tonight stuck it on the Lappy, (as it doesn't matter if that goes tits up) but it was taking sooo long I've left it to it, and will see how it's coping with sp3 tomorrow.... (Back on the main rig now)

I will slipstream it in to my XP disc though, as that will save a shed load of time, as I won't have to get the near 100 updates released since sp2...!!!

I'll post back when I've tried the Lappy tomorrow, and tell you what I think, and how stable it is, and if it's affected my WiFi connection... ;)
 

TheWakeUpCall

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,209
Reaction score
4
I didnt find it any different.. also installed SP1 for vista on my lappy.. again no difference..

Like Dazza said, if you apply updates then this will have almost no effect to the computer from the users perspective.
 

Fergalsworld

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
4,398
Reaction score
464
I put the sp3 corp on my desktop and can i get my onboard sound to work can i fook
installed drivers i always use says everything installed successfully but it dont work still get the yellow question mark on it i also tried latest drivers aswell
It is well up to date as its only d/loaded to updates from uncle bill in the last 3 days
but im afraid its getting ragged off and going back to my trusty copy of sp2 were i have no sound issue's then i might try updating to sp3 instead of formatting like i did before and see if the sound works then.
 

Dazza

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
66
Like Dazza said, if you apply updates then this will have almost no effect to the computer from the users perspective.

Indeed.

As promised though, my take on it, after installing it last night on my fully updated sp2 XP Pro...

No noticeable difference on the lappy at all. Everything is still working without any problems. I've slipstreamed it in to my Pro version, and will try that on a spare rig when I have some spare time.
 

Dazza

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
66
WakeUpCall.. dunno what you are talking about mate...

cheers for the update Dazza.. I hope the official release may be different..

Why are you expecting it to be different? It works, what more do you want? And this is the official release, it's the RTM release. They've (M$) have pulled it only because of one issue...

Sp3 is basically all the updates/patches/fixes M$ have released since sp2, along with a couple of minor tweaks that most users wouldn't notice/known existed anyway...

It's not going to turn XP into Vista MK-II or anything...
 

TheWakeUpCall

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,209
Reaction score
4
WakeUpCall.. dunno what you are talking about mate...

cheers for the update Dazza.. I hope the official release may be different..

SP3 is just a culmination of all of the updates from windows update since SP2 and a couple of useless tweaks.


It's so that if you buy a new windows xp machine, or want to reinstall xp and know how to slipstream, you don't have to install hundreds of updates once you've installed.
 

bash213001

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
368
Reaction score
24
got the sp3 on auto update everything seems fine here
 

HappyH

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
3,681
Reaction score
6,792
Got SP3 today & all fine - so far.
HH.
 

little_pob

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
2,476
Location
mmm....padded walls....so soft...
UPDATE - Unless your running RMS you'll be able to pick SP3 up on auto updates. MS has had XP SP3 and Vista SP1 available again since at least the 6th, and are currently just filtering out RMS users.
 

techquest

DW Member ++
Joined
Oct 29, 2007
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
43
Updated SP3 today and had a few issues with it wiping out my Live Messenger names and reloading it 1st time I used it, but that s ok now.

Also had problem with windows update after and discover it had taken out my trusted download sites in IE7 but did the recommended fix Option 1 which cleared that and now all seems ok.

The problem identified and fix are as follows:

When accessing the Update site, you receive the 0x80072EE2 or 0x80072EFD error.

Resolution1
1. A misconfigured Proxy/Firewall can cause this problem. Double-check the Proxy/Firewall settings.
Add the following urls to the exception list within your Firewall/Proxy:
http://*.update.microsoft.com
https://*.update.microsoft.com
http://download.windowsupdate.com
For help configuring Proxy/Firewall refer to documentation or contact the manufacturer.

Resolution 2
1. Add the following Trusted Sites:
Start Internet Explorer.
On the Tools menu, click Internet Options.
Click the Security tab.
Click the Trusted sites icon.
Click the Sites button.
Clear the Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone check box.
Use the Add button next to the Add this Web site to the zone box to add the following sites:
http://*.update.microsoft.com
https://*.update.microsoft.com
http://download.windowsupdate.com

Click OK.

There's MS for you!!!! lol
 
TEST
Top