limp mode in modern cars

plater

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
1
has anyone had their car lose power and engine light come on .this is happening to a range of turbo charged cars ,caused by carbon build up in the wastegate(variable geometry fins)in the turbo.after much money spent in garages and the advice of a new turbo it turns out there is an easy and quick solution using oven cleaner and wd 40 (search limp mode at Fred's TDI Page. TDIClub.com. VW TDI Enthusiast Community ) hope iv helped someone
 

davidh

<font color="RED">Administrator</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
14,954
Reaction score
121
Location
LIVERPOOL
has anyone had their car lose power and engine light come on .this is happening to a range of turbo charged cars ,caused by carbon build up in the wastegate(variable geometry fins)in the turbo.after much money spent in garages and the advice of a new turbo it turns out there is an easy and quick solution using oven cleaner and wd 40 (search limp mode at Fred's TDI Page. TDIClub.com. VW TDI Enthusiast Community ) hope iv helped someone
not all ways
in a mondeo TDCI the vehicle goes into limp mode because the main cpu drops the injector number which has to be reprogrammed back in
 

fes_786

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Messages
3,894
Reaction score
277
Location
uk
not all ways
in a mondeo TDCI the vehicle goes into limp mode because the main cpu drops the injector number which has to be reprogrammed back in

theres alot of reasons why a car can go into limp mode

in a mondeo tdci ur spot on....lol i recode around 3 or 4 every week

in a vectra C turbo boost sensor faulty = limp mode

so it all depends on the car and limp mode trigger set by manufacturer
 

Captin

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
3,388
Reaction score
941
Location
Weston Village
My car went into limp mode when one of the coils failed. It's embarrasing doing 30mph up the motorway in a Jag when only 3 out of 6 cyls are firing.
 

plater

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
1
not all ways
in a mondeo TDCI the vehicle goes into limp mode because the main cpu drops the injector number which has to be reprogrammed back in

on my fault code reader there are 1400 -1500 fault codes from the air conditioner to the petrol cap.im just giving a heads up on garages trying to replace turbos .the ecu will limp if any components go out of spec.
 

davidh

<font color="RED">Administrator</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
14,954
Reaction score
121
Location
LIVERPOOL
on my fault code reader there are 1400 -1500 fault codes from the air conditioner to the petrol cap.im just giving a heads up on garages trying to replace turbos .the ecu will limp if any components go out of spec.
wasnt trying to pull u m8 just pointing out that there are more faults than the turbo

even a fault code tells u one fault when it isnt
its knowing how to interprit the code
 
TEST
Top