Laptop buying advise

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,564
Reaction score
1,622
I need a laptop to do some work from home and have a budget of £400-£450, 2nd hand not a problem 15"-16" , i7 16gb ram 256ssd are a rough guide.
Any links would be great
 

avid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2004
Messages
2,827
Reaction score
3,855
Location
Nabootique
Never had a problem with dell. I have latitude at the moment and it’s about four years old and it has never missed a beat.
 

janobi

Janet to us
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
9,238
Reaction score
1,234
Location
Work.... Where else?
Mac everytime ;). But you wont get what you want for the money you're looking to pay.

We use Dell laptops in work decent enough kit. Whatever you get, just dban the drive, and reinstall windows and you should be fine. Unless it's SSD, as you cannot dban a SSD.
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,176
Reaction score
593
HP every time
Dell every time....
Just my 2 cents from repairing a multitude of HP and Dell servers. I would always go HP. The beep code/lights are far more informative than dell and are consistent throughout all the models I handled back in the day.

For example while with the Dells 1 beep on a r730 means RAM issue and on a R720 means a PSU. Cuz of that most the answers on the dell forum are wrong and you end up wasting endless time on the wrong thing. Best thing to do when troubleshooting Dells is get the manual of the model you have to identify the beep/light codes and ignore everything you read else where.
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,564
Reaction score
1,622

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,564
Reaction score
1,622
Deals done £450 for the lot, I'll bang some more ram in should be ok.
 

Oggiman

DW Member +
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
185
Reaction score
98
I bought asos rog i7 18 months ago.
Whatever you do....don't update nvidia graphic card drivers...known compatability problem resulting in dark screen.
 
TEST
Top