Just Installed Dreambox...

Lauting

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
148
Reaction score
1
Location
London
Afternoon all,

Just setup my dreambox and it all seems to be working fine....."yay"

I thought I would say a big THANKS to the forum, as the information on here has allowed me to setup my dreambox with no problems and if I ever came across a problem I know people on the forum would help out.

All I can say to the new starters is read through the forum as most questions have been asked, but it took me a while before I was confident enough to go out and buy one and sort it out.

Keep up the good work!
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Reaction score
198
Location
Dream world
Welcome to the world of the dreambox!

It's good to know that the tutorials people have worked hard to create are going to good use!

:) :) :)
 

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
2,046
Reaction score
613
Welcome to the world of the dreambox!

It's good to know that the tutorials people have worked hard to create are going to good use!

:) :) :)

The tuts are great: multi :

Got mine working fine from them bar when I bricked it and then the forum was here to help me out.

I just wish I could find equally good tuts on DVB-C, which is my know project but been trying for a week without a lot of luck.
 

Lauting

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
148
Reaction score
1
Location
London
Yea the sticky’s are very helpful.

I couldn't believe how small the box is and the picture quality is good along with how fast the box processes commands.

Just a quick question, are there any other methods of connecting the dreambox to the TV (Other than scart to scart)?
 

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
2,046
Reaction score
613
Yea the sticky’s are very helpful.

I couldn't believe how small the box is and the picture quality is good along with how fast the box processes commands.

Just a quick question, are there any other methods of connecting the dreambox to the TV (Other than scart to scart)?

Only Via compersite, or if you are feeling adventerous if you have a PC connect ed the TV and have networked the Dreambox the you could capture and playback through the PCs DVI etc
 

Lauting

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
148
Reaction score
1
Location
London
What are you trying to do, do you have no scart sockets free in your TV?

Spot on, would a scart to component lead work with the dreambox?

If so could someone recommend one?

(Is it true that scart to component outputs a better picture quality than scart to scart?)
 

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
2,046
Reaction score
613
Spot on, would a scart to component lead work with the dreambox?

If so could someone recommend one?

(Is it true that scart to component outputs a better picture quality than scart to scart?)


Ypur getting confussed betwwen component - as good as Scart RGB (some would argue better) and compersite, probably the worst connecttion.

Depending on what you are feeding the TV with it is possible that something may have RGB feed through so that you can plug the Dream into that
 

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
2,046
Reaction score
613
No - as said before you are confussed betwwen conponent and compersite, the cable you have shown is scart -> component (i.e. RGB - Red, Green, Blue on seperate cables) What you need is simular but the video signal is carried on one cable (yellow) and sound is carried on the other 2 (red and white). I will see if I can find a link for you.

Not done a full search and I'm sure you could do cheaper but here you go

http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=35904&doy=18m2

That being said it might be an idea to explain your set up and we may be able to give adivce, it seems that you are trying to plug into the RGB (phono plugs on the TV that are colour coded Red, Green and Blue)? untill we know more details its a bit difficult to help.
 
Last edited:

Lauting

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
148
Reaction score
1
Location
London
No - as said before you are confussed betwwen conponent and compersite, the cable you have shown is scart -> component (i.e. RGB - Red, Green, Blue on seperate cables) What you need is simular but the video signal is carried on one cable (yellow) and sound is carried on the other 2 (red and white). I will see if I can find a link for you.

Not done a full search and I'm sure you could do cheaper but here you go

http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=35904&doy=18m2

That being said it might be an idea to explain your set up and we may be able to give adivce, it seems that you are trying to plug into the RGB (phono plugs on the TV that are colour coded Red, Green and Blue)? untill we know more details its a bit difficult to help.

Well I had a look at the technical specs of the TV and on the Sony website it says that it has a component connector on the TV?
 

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
2,046
Reaction score
613
Well I had a look at the technical specs of the TV and on the Sony website it says that it has a component connector on the TV?

Thew component specification is some what different to that of RGB scart, you will probably need a convertor to do it have a look at www.keene.co.uk but it will be pricey.

The cable you metioned may work but I dought it to start with there will be no sync, there are some devices that you can use a cable like that + a compersite cable that will add the sync, I dought that the Dream is one of them and it will also depend on your TV.

A lot better idea would be RGB feed though your other devices, or some of them may not be RGB enabled so instead they could plug into the compersite.
 

Lauting

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
148
Reaction score
1
Location
London
Could have got it wrong cannot find a scart to component convertor (not saying that you would not need one) but you would at least need this cable so you would get sound as well as video

http://www.keene.co.uk/electronics/multi.php?mycode=SBB605A

Right I think above is the cable I need to output component on my TV with sound, is the cable of good quality?

Also any other recommendations for a good component cable which also outputs sound?
 

herbs

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,249
Reaction score
10
Location
Birmingham
I use a cable similar to the Mark Grant one that was linked to and it works fine. I use the optical audio out for the sound and it all works just fine.
 

Lauting

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
148
Reaction score
1
Location
London
I use a cable similar to the Mark Grant one that was linked to and it works fine. I use the optical audio out for the sound and it all works just fine.

Right I think I’m getting a bit confused as I went to Tottenham Court Road and asked for a scart to component cable and most shops looked and me and said you what?

Felt like a bit of an idiot apart from the last shop I asked and he said they do exist but we don't stock them.

So just to clear things up.......

Does the dreambox output a component signal on the scart interface?

If so can you get a scart to component cable which also outputs the sound on the same cable?
 
TEST
Top