Is my Dreambox on it's way out?

MONKey

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
27
Location
Inside a modem
Hello again fellow Dreamers :),

My Dreambox has been freezing up every 12hrs or so for the past couple of weeks. I did put the problem down to the CC messing with the signals in the area and have been playing with my attenuators and booster but the problem hasn't been getting any better.

It's just froze up on me again and when I went downstairs to rebott it it was very hot to the touch :FRIGHT:

I have it in a well ventilated space and have never noticed the heat before. Is it normal for the DB to get so hot? Or is it slowly dieing on me.....:grayno:

Also given the above do DVB shop offer a full years warranty?
 

ellie1998

Inactive User
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,744
Reaction score
926
Location
here
Hello again fellow Dreamers :),

My Dreambox has been freezing up every 12hrs or so for the past couple of weeks. I did put the problem down to the CC messing with the signals in the area and have been playing with my attenuators and booster but the problem hasn't been getting any better.

It's just froze up on me again and when I went downstairs to rebott it it was very hot to the touch :FRIGHT:

I have it in a well ventilated space and have never noticed the heat before. Is it normal for the DB to get so hot? Or is it slowly dieing on me.....:grayno:

Also given the above do DVB shop offer a full years warranty?

Yes a 1 year warranty.
Mine gets warm but it is stable, a lot more stable than my dboxes.
 

MONKey

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
27
Location
Inside a modem
Yes a 1 year warranty.
Mine gets warm but it is stable, a lot more stable than my dboxes.

Thanks for the info ellie thats reassuring to know with the warranty :)

With regards to the heat though mine is hot enough to be a hot water bottle. However it has been streaming most of the day upstairs though as I have been off work ill so maybe that's why it's so hot?

And it would of probably not mattered as I have been having freezing probs anyways. Although saying that this is the first time I have been around recently when it has froze..... Usually I get home and notice it has froze so I just reboot it, but it would have had time to cool down then instead of being rebooted immediately.......

Ah well, if it does die at least I know DVB will come to the rescue and I'll have a replacement within a week. Will be a shame if it does die as my first one was DOA and I haven't had this one longer than a few months. Just my luck though!
 

blaze

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
110
Reaction score
1
I'm having similar issues, which i put down to the Gemini 3.3 image i'm running. The channel freezes and i have to reboot the box to get it working again.

I've had trouble with channels freezing more and more lately too - i'm going to try another image (clean one this time, rather than a backup) and see if that helps.
 

MONKey

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
27
Location
Inside a modem
Just thought I'd let you all know that I upgraded my box to Gemini 3.40 and the latest emu's etc and has been going for 3 days now with no probs ;)

:)
 
TEST
Top