Is my dreambox beyond repair?

Purity

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
4,089
Reaction score
223
Location
Manchester, UK
Got home tonight, and the dreambox pvr600 was on standby.

Pressed the power button and it stayed on standby. Switched on the TV and there was a buzzing noise coming from the speakers. Hmmmmm

So I removed the Dreambox from under the TV, and took it into another room. Plugged it in, and there was no standby light. Infact no lights at all. Also the power supply was making a buzzing noise. So I disconnected it.

I'm a bit gutted because I've just got my bouquets, icons etc sorted.

Has anyone experienced anything like this before? Is it beyond repair? Should I be looking to buy another one. If so, what do people recommend now?

Cheers
 

Purity

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
4,089
Reaction score
223
Location
Manchester, UK
Cheers. I spoke to JTH and he suggested the same. I found a spare 12V DC power supply, with same polarity. Nothing, nada, ziltch :-(
 

Skills1444

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
46
Reaction score
17
have u tried putting a different img on it with null cable, does it connect?
 

parker13

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
1,423
Reaction score
147
Did the replacement power supply have the same, or higher amps ?
 

Purity

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
4,089
Reaction score
223
Location
Manchester, UK
Wahey, I've just tried a 1A netgear power supply, and that fires the box up!

So the fault must be with my power supplies

....and I've just ordered a new box lol
 

dar1437

Worldz Biggest Oddball
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
2,641
Reaction score
1,119
Location
Schloss Adler
I've had 3 different problems with dreambox's and they all turned out to be power supply problems. (chinese crap lol)
 

bo88y

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
the solution to that mate is to buy the real thing like i do dm800hd no fan runs smooth likes all images perfect
 

kirit lingham

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
85
Reaction score
41
Location
West London
Bearing in mind that the last post was 2 years ago, my response to this will be dated.

However, if the box is a Chinese clone, the power supply is usually rubbish. I've had two die on me. However, I find that a quick search in an auction site usually produces cheap replacements, probably again from china. But sometimes from the UK.
 
TEST
Top