• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Is anyone using a Dreambox and Freeview tuner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munkey

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,831
Likes
169
#1
I'm running an old dbox at the moment and it was fine on my CRT but looks poor on my LCD. Freeview on the other hand looks great on my LCD.

Can anyone comment on the picture quality of a Dreambox compared with a Dbox and Freeview tuners. I have a OK signal but in order to get my dbox working I had to use a cable booster (SLx gold) to get the BRG above 61,000. I really dont mind selling my faithfull dbox if it means a better quality picture with a Dreambox.

Also do any Dreamboxes have component out or is it restricted ot a Scart connection over RGB?
 

MONKey

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
1,965
Likes
27
#2
Hello again Munkey :)

I have never personally used a DBOX but the general gist of what people have said on here who have switched over to a Drambox is that the Dreambox has better picture quality.

However the Dreambox is very picky about signal quality. If you have needed a booster to get your DBOX working properly then I would say your going to have problems getting a Dreambox running properly as they like a strong signal. (Unless you can get into the green cabinet to put yourself on a stronger feed)

As for freeview, if you have a good signal going to your Dreambox it should hands down be better picture quality.

I personally stream my Dreambox over my network to my laptop which I have connected via HDMI to my HDTV and it look GREEEEAT!

Until the HD Dreambox is released (Think it's the 8000) then you are stuck with streaming over a network or Scart for connectivity unfortunantly.....

Hope this helps.

:)
 

fergy

Member +
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
170
Likes
3
#3
I'm running an old dbox at the moment and it was fine on my CRT but looks poor on my LCD. Freeview on the other hand looks great on my LCD.

Can anyone comment on the picture quality of a Dreambox compared with a Dbox and Freeview tuners. I have a OK signal but in order to get my dbox working I had to use a cable booster (SLx gold) to get the BRG above 61,000. I really dont mind selling my faithfull dbox if it means a better quality picture with a Dreambox.

Also do any Dreamboxes have component out or is it restricted ot a Scart connection over RGB?
Hello.
Have two questions:
#1 What image You use on receiver ?
#2 Is it Dbox or DboxII ?
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#4
There is not much difference in the picture quality between digital boxes.
The visible differences are caused by the selected video mode composite, s-video, rgb, YUV and so on, and the quality of the scart cable and the used telly.
At a digital box the digital picture must be converted to a analog signal for the outputs and there are more or less standard parts in use.
 

j00

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
58
Likes
0
#5
The dbox2 is more stable untill we get more people on dreambox and more people are moving over each week so soon it will be more support for dreambox than dbox2.

I have the 500-c and currently it is great, I have got a much better Signal quality than my dbox2.

My BER is currently 0 - 20, when it used to be much higher on dbox2. Loading times are much faster, however crashes more for me ;) using neuntrino image.

Cheers.

+ I used to have a booster setup required on my dbox2 or it would only work on basic's. However i do not require it now.
 

fergy

Member +
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
170
Likes
3
#6
There is not much difference in the picture quality between digital boxes.
The visible differences are caused by the selected video mode composite, s-video, rgb, YUV and so on, and the quality of the scart cable and the used telly.
At a digital box the digital picture must be converted to a analog signal for the outputs and there are more or less standard parts in use.
Hello.
I am not sure about what are You writing because Dbox have oldest hardware ( tuner, if You like that word ) so ........ Differences between hardware exist.
 

fergy

Member +
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
170
Likes
3
#7
The dbox2 is more stable untill we get more people on dreambox and more people are moving over each week so soon it will be more support for dreambox than dbox2.

I have the 500-c and currently it is great, I have got a much better Signal quality than my dbox2.

My BER is currently 0 - 20, when it used to be much higher on dbox2. Loading times are much faster, however crashes more for me ;) using neuntrino image.

Cheers.

+ I used to have a booster setup required on my dbox2 or it would only work on basic's. However i do not require it now.
Dbox have much slower processor than Dreambox. Look at this:

Code:
Specifications: 

dbox receives all free digital TV- and radiochannels
Electronic Programme Guide (EPG) 
Integrated Timer
2 smartcard readers
Pictureformat 4:3, 16:9
Two Scartports
optical digital output (S/PDIF)
Audio-out analog left/right
Audio-out optical/digital (Dolby Digital) 
Integrated V90-Modem (Telephone)
serial RS 232 connector
Ethernet (10 Base-T)-Connection RJ-45
VCR Control
SIZE (BxHxT) ca.380 x 67 x 237 mm
but, ........... looooooook this:

DBox: CPU: PPC at 67.200 MHz
Dreambox ( 500,600,56x0,70x0: CPU: PPC at 250 MHz IBM PowerPC Processor (350 Mips)
Dreambox 7025: CPU: 300 MHz

EDIT: Dbox is history, Dreambox, ITgate, ReelBox, ... and other Linux based receivers rocking but anyway, You can use Dbox for almost all things what U are using Dreambox.
 
Last edited:

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#8
Hello.
I am not sure about what are You writing because Dbox have oldest hardware ( tuner, if You like that word ) so ........ Differences between hardware exist.
It doesn't matter in which way a byte reach the box. Byte is byte.
We are talking about a digital signal not analogue.
Analogue come into the game for the conversion necessary for the outputs. The tuner has no affiliation to that conversion.
 
Last edited:

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#9
Dbox have much slower processor than Dreambox. Look at this:

Code:
Specifications: 

dbox receives all free digital TV- and radiochannels
Electronic Programme Guide (EPG) 
Integrated Timer
2 smartcard readers
Pictureformat 4:3, 16:9
Two Scartports
optical digital output (S/PDIF)
Audio-out analog left/right
Audio-out optical/digital (Dolby Digital) 
Integrated V90-Modem (Telephone)
serial RS 232 connector
Ethernet (10 Base-T)-Connection RJ-45
VCR Control
SIZE (BxHxT) ca.380 x 67 x 237 mm
but, ........... looooooook this:

DBox: CPU: PPC at 67.200 MHz
Dreambox ( 500,600,56x0,70x0: CPU: PPC at 250 MHz IBM PowerPC Processor (350 Mips)
Dreambox 7025: CPU: 300 MHz

EDIT: Dbox is history, Dreambox, ITgate, ReelBox, ... and other Linux based receivers rocking but anyway, You can use Dbox for almost all things what U are using Dreambox.
Can you watch faster TV with a dreambox?
 

fergy

Member +
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
170
Likes
3
#10
Can you watch faster TV with a dreambox?
Nope, but, I don't talk about fester watch!
mgb said:
It doesn't matter in which way a byte reach the box. Byte is byte.
We are talking about a digital signal not analogue.
Anyway, Digital is digital and I don't wanna comment anything about that.

lol mate, look at My signature!
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#11
Nope, but, I don't talk about fester watch!

Anyway, Digital is digital and I don't wanna comment anything about that.

lol mate, look at My signature!
And where do you think the quality at your TV screen is affected?
The tuner get the bits and bytes and if there are errors the automatic error correction correct them. It the errors are to much you get no picture or a blocky picture.
At a normal signal been suitable for the tuner in use the quality at the screen is affected from the digital to analogue conversion unit and the choosen video mode. Thats it.
 

fergy

Member +
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
170
Likes
3
#12
And where do you think the quality at your TV screen is affected?
The tuner get the bits and bytes and if there are errors the automatic error correction correct them. It the errors are to much you get no picture or a blocky picture.
At a normal signal been suitable for the tuner in use the quality at the screen is affected from the digital to analogue conversion unit and the choosen video mode. Thats it.
lol use any Dreambox/ReelBox and any of Dbox and compare a signal strength!
Mate, what automatic correction do You talking about ?! Mate, Dbox have tuner from stone-age!!! Please, don't philosophy about that because We can make a new forum for that kind of problems.
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#13
I guess you have no clue about digital TV.
FEC -> Forward Error Correction. The rate is defined in cables.xml and services.
 
Last edited:

fergy

Member +
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
170
Likes
3
#14
I guess you have no clue about digital TV.
FEC -> Forward Error Correction. The rate is defined in cables.xml and services.
Mate, We can discuss about Dreambox/Dbox much but what d'feck You want to know?!
I am a betatester of Dream multimedia and believe Me, I know what I am talking about!
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2006
Messages
629
Likes
2
#15
anyhoo, getting back on track... :Laugh:

I have my 500C connected via component output to a 42" Panny plasma (and I am very picky when it comes to pq) and I am very happy with it. But as said previously, some channels with low signal can be look a bit naff but on the whole I get a excellent pic.
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#16
Mate, We can discuss about Dreambox/Dbox much but what d'feck You want to know?!
I am a betatester of Dream multimedia and believe Me, I know what I am talking about!
If you don't know what error correction is you are only a bigmouth.
 

fergy

Member +
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
170
Likes
3
#17
If you don't know what error correction is you are only a bigmouth.
The two main categories of FEC are block coding and convolutional coding.

* Block codes work on fixed-size blocks (packets) of bits or symbols of predetermined size.
* Convolutional codes work on bit or symbol streams of arbitrary length.
* A convolutional code can be turned into a block code, if desired.
* Convolutional codes are most often decoded with the Viterbi algorithm, though other algorithms are sometimes used.

There are many types of block codes, but the most notable is Reed-Solomon coding because of its widespread use on the Compact disc, the DVD, and in computer hard drives. Golay, BCH and Hamming codes are other examples of block codes. Hamming ECC is commonly used to correct NAND flash memory errors. Nearly all block codes apply the algebraic properties of finite fields.

But I am TALKING ABOUT DREAMBOX/DBOX TUNER MATE!
 

IANB

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
12,877
Likes
236
#18
@ Fergy and mgb.
You are obviously 2 very knowledgable guys. Why not try to work together rather than fall out lol.
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#20
@ Fergy and mgb.
You are obviously 2 very knowledgable guys. Why not try to work together rather than fall out lol.
A betatester who don't know what error correction for a digital box is thats like a car mechanic who don't know what a wheel for steering at a car is.
fergy maybe know how to switch on a dreambox but thats it.
Typicall loudmouth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.