Ip cctv

vaf888

New Member ++
Joined
May 7, 2017
Messages
14
Likes
0
#1
Hi All

I am very new to CCTV, but have a system in my house currently which is a IP POE based system.

I am looking at fitting a CCTV system in my business to help reduce abusive comments and situations against my staff.

Just wonder if it is worth going for the 4mega cameras or to go with 3mega? Also are they any cameras offering audio record?

What's is the difference/benefit of dome Vs bullet type cameras.

Many thanks. All advice appreciated.



Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
 

copex

Member ++
Joined
Aug 9, 2012
Messages
140
Likes
7
#2
in a shop / offices i would go for domes or turrets inside, outside probably bullets / turrets.

what you need to consider is focal length so ensure the cameras field of view is suitable for the area been covered, also if using domes check the axis of the camera some will be 2 axis and some will be 3 axis this may be important depending on how the cameras are been mounted.

mega pixels are not so important, but if you need good night vision consider low lux.

hope it helps
 

vaf888

New Member ++
Joined
May 7, 2017
Messages
14
Likes
0
#3
Need more help.

Can balums be used to carry a IP camera signal over coax cable. Installer says no, but a manufacturer in China says yes.

Anyone experienced this?

Thanks
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
802
#4
Need more help.

Can balums be used to carry a IP camera signal over coax cable. Installer says no, but a manufacturer in China says yes.

Anyone experienced this?

Thanks
No, a balun can not do that. It is an impedance matching transformer which, in other scenarios, is used to match 75Ω cameras to Ethernet cable.

There might be some type of converter but it is certainly not a balun.
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
802
#8
It states no external power required but I bet it needs a PoE switch.
 

vaf888

New Member ++
Joined
May 7, 2017
Messages
14
Likes
0
#9
My cameras have a power cable even though they are Poe. I was thinking of using these for the signal and powering the IP cameras from the AC feed from the old coax cameras. Would this work? Do the converters seem genuine?

Thanks
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
802
#10
My cameras have a power cable even though they are Poe. I was thinking of using these for the signal and powering the IP cameras from the AC feed from the old coax cameras. Would this work? Do the converters seem genuine?

Thanks
I think the converters will need power themselves.

They claim to be passive but that isn't possible.

These converters are probably supposed to be powered from PoE switch and far-end converter will be expecting power from the coax.

I'm not an expert though, so just examining what I see :).
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,872
Likes
870
#11
Can't understand why you're not recabling. Could use the old coax to pull through the cat cable, job will take no time at all, will be a lot cheaper and better still it will be done properly.
Why complicate things :confused:
 

vaf888

New Member ++
Joined
May 7, 2017
Messages
14
Likes
0
#12
Recalling would be a nightmare as everything is tacked down so that's why I need to look at this option. I have a full cat5 system in my old house and it's great.

Recabling
 
TEST
Top