Installing o/s to externel drive only

chronoman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,272
Reaction score
102
Location
Home of Golf
Hi
I posted before and some said it can be done but i have had problems creating a disk to install an operating system to externel drive without internell hdd.
Has anyone done this sucessfully and if so could they give me a link to upload.
I have legal xp home and pro keys but have wasted about 7 disks so far trying to create a boot disk modified to allow windows to boot.
I tried Vista but it wont let you boot to externel dive without internel.
If there is an operating sytem that would work please let me know .
the laptop is a compaq presario which is only about 2 yrs old

thanks chronoman
 

The Dentist

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
8,321
Reaction score
1,027
Location
London
It can be done mate but its gonna be REALLY slow!

the speed of everything.

read / write speed of usb 2.0 is considerably slower than of IDE or SATA
 

chronoman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,272
Reaction score
102
Location
Home of Golf
i read in site usb2 was as quick if not quicker at booting up than ide drive.
But if its a case of that or nothing slower is better than nothing at all.
 

CAROLANN

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
900
Reaction score
10
Location
London
i read in site usb2 was as quick if not quicker at booting up than ide drive.
But if its a case of that or nothing slower is better than nothing at all.

you not got a spare 20quid mate ?? maybe even less nowdays, just buy an internal hard drive and stick it in, even a very small capacity one will do, 20gb's or summit and install windows to that, costs peanuts mate, then use your external drive as backup space,

i know its not the answer you need or want but thats what i would do mate, simple and easy and very very cheap, infact i think they give small hard drives away now in lucky bags, lol.
 

chronoman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,272
Reaction score
102
Location
Home of Golf
i bought a brand new internel drive,opened and sprayed dusted internels but works between 30 min and 4 hrs then when i restart no media present .it got me baffled at the minute but really quite high spec
 

CAROLANN

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
900
Reaction score
10
Location
London
i bought a brand new internel drive,opened and sprayed dusted internels but works between 30 min and 4 hrs then when i restart no media present .it got me baffled at the minute but really quite high spec

i dont follow you mate ?? what you mean ?? you put a new hard drive in you need to install windows on it and format it too as windows will instruct you to do ?
 

Joe1989

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,285
Reaction score
101
Location
Renfrew
i bought a brand new internel drive,opened and sprayed dusted internels but works between 30 min and 4 hrs then when i restart no media present .it got me baffled at the minute but really quite high spec

sounds like sata/ide controller or cables. Or the harddrive its self - send it back and get a replacment
 

karym6

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
6,926
Reaction score
65
Location
Edinburgh, UK
i bought a brand new internel drive,opened and sprayed dusted internels but works between 30 min and 4 hrs then when i restart no media present .it got me baffled at the minute but really quite high spec

I dont get this part - are you saying you bought a new internal HDD and opened it up? Then a short while later, it stopped working?

Regardless, if you really want an external drive to hold your os and you have the capability, use an eSATA drive.
 

CAROLANN

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
900
Reaction score
10
Location
London
i think it sounds like he put in a new hard drive and hasnt realised that an operating system needs to be installed on it, lol, i know that sounds silly but there again, in my lifetime with computer tech you would be amazed the stories ive heard, lol.
 
TEST
Top