In need of help with windows

telsave

Member +
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
658
Reaction score
33
Location
Newcastle
Hi Hope someone can help me urgently please.

I have been trying to get the plug in 'members' to work correctly as when a new member registers and logs in it takes them to the profile page not the home page, unfortunately it also does this when the main administrator logs in when using the admin username and password, in other words it treats them as an ordinary member without access to the rest of the site. Justin (of member plugin) tried to help out but after offering a code as a plugin it still would not work.

He suggested I deactivate all of my plugins to see if one was causing a problem. I did this and it was still the same so I have unistalled the member plugin, now I cannot get access to my site the administrator log in takes me to a 404 error page with the following URL:-` http://eac.eu.com/newsite/http:/eac.eu.com/newsite/http:/eac.eu.com/newsite/wp-admin/.` I do not know why it is looking for the URL in triplicate.

Can anyone please try to help me get my site back to a working condition for I have to hand it over to a charity after writing a manual for them as there is no one there computer literate.

I have been able to get into my dashboard by entering a page url However I visited the site at `http://eac.eu.com/newsite` to find that all the pages have a mirror image of the page under the actual content. Does anyone have a reason for this please I have not come across it before, if so any ide4a how to cure it.

If anyone needs my password and username to try to help I can let you have it by a pm.

kind regards
 

Him Her

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
8,137
Reaction score
6,410
Location
North Yorkshire
Must be Wordpress lol - use ftp to delete the plugin M8 then tidy up when you have access back :)

Clear your cache before you do this as I'm not getting the same problem - PM me the details to get in if you want me to take a look.
 
Last edited:

Him Her

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
8,137
Reaction score
6,410
Location
North Yorkshire
Do you have control panel access on the host M8? - I'd like a look at the file structure.
 

Him Her

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
8,137
Reaction score
6,410
Location
North Yorkshire
It's not obvious what's going on here but there's a few things to check:

1 - Apart from the prvious post regarding the number of carousel entries have you modified the theme at all?
2 - There's a potentially 'rogue' folder (YOUR_THEME) in the themes directory
3 - It's definitely theme-related as if you change to the WP default theme the problem goes away

I would start by disabling all your plug-ins, check the problem has gone away (delete your local cache), enable the plug-ins one by one until the problem comes back and leave the WP Super Cache plug-in until last.

Hopefully that will nail it to a specific area!
 

telsave

Member +
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
658
Reaction score
33
Location
Newcastle
It's not obvious what's going on here but there's a few things to check:

1 - Apart from the prvious post regarding the number of carousel entries have you modified the theme at all?
2 - There's a potentially 'rogue' folder (YOUR_THEME) in the themes directory
3 - It's definitely theme-related as if you change to the WP default theme the problem goes away

I would start by disabling all your plug-ins, check the problem has gone away (delete your local cache), enable the plug-ins one by one until the problem comes back and leave the WP Super Cache plug-in until last.

Hopefully that will nail it to a specific area!
Hi M8

Thanks for this it is true I only changed the number of Carousel entries as they have 12 National Associations and I could not feature some but not the others.

One thought I back the whole thing up automatically every night do you think if I restore a back up from before the problem occured that would cure the problem as it should over write files?

I have disabled all plugins before and with them all disabled the problem was still there.

I have just tried to access the site using `http://eac.eu.com/newsite` The home page is there but when I clicked on About EAC I was asked to login also the log in form was replicated 3 times on the page and once in the footer.

I do not know where Your-Theme comes from unless it changed because I changed the carousel.

I will try what you suggest this evening

Really appreciate what you have done so far my son Dutcho owes you as he is not a software kind of guy he thinks I am letting him off the hook.

Did you put milk on those passwords before you ate them?

I will let you what happens
 

Him Her

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
8,137
Reaction score
6,410
Location
North Yorkshire
Probs just mentioning in case anyone else has issues with Wordpress, the core code is usually very stable so issues are unlikely to lie there. Also, it's best not to modify core code as there are APIs to allow you to modify the functionality and future updates/upgrades will otherwise likely overwrite any changes you make.

So, any issues, eliminate the themes and plugins first. Once you narrow it down it will be easier to fix. Either raise a bug report or use child-themes/user-functions to separate your changes out from the core code, plug-ins and themes.
 
TEST
Top