How to: Install a motorised satellite dish

kegnkiwi

Elite Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
1,400
Reaction score
700
Focus your set up is not cheap anyone who knows this stuff can tell instantly looking at the moldings on the back of the dish shows its quality. You can go cheaper though. I bought a 1.3 x 1.25m dish and I think I paid about £100.00. Its stored in the shed until i take it out and set up mainly on 7w. I ground mount it and pull in 100's of channels on 7w even up in west yorkshire. My main dish is funke 1m with a technomate 2600 motor, not expensive but when you add on a £400.00 solo 4k then the price starts adding up.
 

FocuS

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
1,680
Reaction score
378
Location
Isle of Lewis, Scotland
Hey, yeah the main reason for this dish was its strength, as i live in the Outer Hebrides very windy, and at the moment it has stood up to anything been thrown at it, I looked at a lot but this one always sounded the best from what i had read. the actuator is not very good i can say that had to repair it twice already, the bushing went for the lead screw, and then the motor got full of water which destroyed the little springs for the bushes on the motor,
and then the magnets fell off with the corrosion, but its been good since i made up a new bush and glued the magnets back on plus new springs , not really relevant, but I thought I would share that.
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,808
Reaction score
2,080
Sorry to butt in but,

I've a 1m set up that's all up and running but been honest it's never moved off 28.2 for 12 months. Is there anything out there ?. I regular update catseye but I never move the dish
 

kegnkiwi

Elite Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
1,400
Reaction score
700
Sorry to butt in but,

I've a 1m set up that's all up and running but been honest it's never moved off 28.2 for 12 months. Is there anything out there ?. I regular update catseye but I never move the dish

My dish very rarely moves off of 1w, i like the hd history channels, there are a couple of dirty porn channels but mainly i like the vh1 classis. There are loads of channels open with a euroline.
 

owen

DW Member +
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
167
Reaction score
85
Location
Kidderminster, West Midlands UK
I have a 110cm set up that goes from 42e around to 30w.
There are lots of channels out there, AXN 39e Irdeto 2 / EPT 39e Biss (FI) / Various 26e / 19e / 13e / 5e Powervu / 3e Biss / 1w Powervu / 5w / 7w /15w ESPN Biss / Fight Channel Powervu plus a lot more with the feeds etc, all with a TM5402M3.

Den
 

StuDaBear

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
473
Reaction score
79
Location
North-West
Bumping this yet again.

So with the recent developments on the sat scene I really want to get my dish back in action. Wife has almost agreed to it going on the front of the house. Its easier to ask for forgiveness than permission right? ;)

What size T&K brackets for a 1m motorised dish would be best?
 

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
Bumping this yet again.

So with the recent developments on the sat scene I really want to get my dish back in action. Wife has almost agreed to it going on the front of the house. Its easier to ask for forgiveness than permission right? ;)

What size T&K brackets for a 1m motorised dish would be best?

thats dependant on a few things. what angle true south is from the wall its being fitted to being the main one

Generally, an 18" T&K would be fine though

Just be aware, that you may need to reach the LNB if it, or the connector, ever fails in the future, so the further from the wall that is, the more likely youd have to take the whole lot down to access them
 

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
Thankfully I should be able to fit this dish below the first floor, everything should be accesible via a step ladder.

thats great. my old dish was installed on the apex of my roof / wall. a 1M solid dish, on an 18" tripod, putting the LNB about 6 feet from the wall in total

when the LNB packed in (due to solar damage rotting the cap, itll happen to EVERY LNB eventually, and water getting into it), it was left not working, untill i took it all down, and gave it away 3 years later lol
 

ukbob

VIP Old Codger
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
815
Location
In the mind
Can someone explain to me
thats dependant on a few things. what angle true south is from the wall its being fitted to

Isn't South true south?
Can you explain to a dumbo (me) what true south is....
 

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
True South is geographically directly South from your location, which is different to magnetic South. This is where the sun is the highest in the sky, and also where the Clarke belt, the imaginary arc that all the satellites are orbiting on, highest point will be.

Your motorised dish needs to be at zero degrees when pointing South, as each direction from this point gets lower in the sky
 

Oily

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
1,185
Reaction score
369
Location
Manchester
Bumping this yet again.

So with the recent developments on the sat scene I really want to get my dish back in action. Wife has almost agreed to it going on the front of the house. Its easier to ask for forgiveness than permission right? ;)

What size T&K brackets for a 1m motorised dish would be best?
Have some free T & K brackets going spare in the freebie section
 

ukbob

VIP Old Codger
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
815
Location
In the mind
True South is geographically directly South from your location, which is different to magnetic South. This is where the sun is the highest in the sky, and also where the Clarke belt, the imaginary arc that all the satellites are orbiting on, highest point will be.

Your motorised dish needs to be at zero degrees when pointing South, as each direction from this point gets lower in the sky

Thank you for taking the time to explain....i get it now.
 

StuDaBear

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
473
Reaction score
79
Location
North-West
thats dependant on a few things. what angle true south is from the wall its being fitted to being the main one

Generally, an 18" T&K would be fine though

Just be aware, that you may need to reach the LNB if it, or the connector, ever fails in the future, so the further from the wall that is, the more likely youd have to take the whole lot down to access them


Is there a prefered diameter of pole for a 1m dish?
 

Oggiman

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
326
Reaction score
276
On my 1.1m dish, I used 48.3mm o/d steel scaffold pole. Stronger than the aluminium tubes that are sometimes supplied with t&k brackets.
Better check the u bolt dimensions that fit motor / dish to pole.
 

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
24,677
Reaction score
3,487
Location
The edge.
Is there a prefered diameter of pole for a 1m dish?

for a 1M dish, id use a steel 2" pole. a bit of scaffold tube would also be fine, but AVOID aluminium pole, UNLESS its only about 18" long and the motor will be clamped between the T&K brackets, and even then, id always prefer a steel pole
 
TEST
Top