How to add maps to TOMTOM xl

kenny444

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
97
Reaction score
1
Location
Milton Keynes and East Yorkshire
How to install and activate TomTom maps on a ONE XL Eu or GB
What you need:
A backup of your SD card safely out of reach, two if your not too sure.
1, A suitably sized extra SD card to carry the Map, or a bigger SD card if your updating a
GB unit.
2, The Map file.
3, Your Device ID.
4, A copy of keygen
5, An sd card reader/writer
Format your new card FAT
Copy map file folder to SD card and any files from your GB or older smaller Sd card.
You can get your original data by using explorer and copying to a new folder and then back.
Make a folder on your PC and call it "A" or something short (becuse its easier than calling
it something with 27 letters)
Copy into C:\A the map .MID file (but call it "C.mid" or what ever suits you, its that
tedium thing)
Copy into "C:\A" The Keygen.exe program but call it "B.exe" or whatever (you know why and you might have to repeat the process and it can get tedious)
Got to RUN and run the CMD / command prompt program (or you can go via
start/program/accessories/command prompt)
CD A (change directory to A)
B.exe C.mid (enter key) {start program running}
Enter your Device ID. Its via TT bottom right corner, version and there it is on the screen.
It should then give you a product code which tallies with your map.
Insert you SD card into the slot of your XL or GB if the map is invisible try adding the
Guam map onto your card it apparently aids detection or something.
When you then select change map it will tell you that it needs activation and now you have
the code. Enjoy
I hope thats clear.
Kenny444
 
Last edited:

Dazmeister

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2006
Messages
629
Reaction score
4
Location
Sector 492 Delta Quadrant 4
Tried this last night but dont have a *.MID file to work with, only one I can find is from existing Memory Card with the original UK & Ireland Map and not the new map I downloaded.

Thanks
 

hoss6800

Member ++
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
371
Reaction score
7
Tried this last night but dont have a *.MID file to work with, only one I can find is from existing Memory Card with the original UK & Ireland Map and not the new map I downloaded.

Thanks
In this case you need to use a meta.txt file and your device ID to patch the map.
 

chiali111

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 3, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Tried this last night on my Tomtom 1 V2 but didn't have any luck.

Followed the instructions and everything seemed to work fine but when I went to switch maps on the Tomtom unit all I could see is UK and Republic of Ireland.

The funny thing though, is when I go into Tomtom Home, I can see the Western & Central Europe maps in the right hand maps section

Confused?!?
 

Coppull-Buster

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
Sorry to hijack this thread, but I've been following these instructions, trying to add a USA & Canada map onto my TomTom XL but I have failed at the final hurdle..

When I boot my TomTom XL back up, everything boots up ok but when I go to manage maps, I can see the new map file but when I select it I get an error message:

Problem with map
You cannot use this map on this
device: USA_and_Canada 815.2022


I followed every step in the instructions and everything appeared to go to plan.. Im wondering if its the wrong version map??

The status screen on my TomTom reads:-

On the device ID screen it says:-

App 8.010 (9369/080529) OS:190943
GPS v1.21, Boot 5.3026
Map: "United_Kingdom_and_Republic_of_Ireland" v675.1409



If anybody could confirm if this is the right map, or if not, which map version I need to look for please..

Thanks in advance..
 
Last edited:

Coppull-Buster

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
**************UPDATE******************

I've managed to get the USA map onto my TomTom and working now...

Have also put the latest v825.2159 UK & Ireland map on as well and all appears to be working now...

I seem to be getting the hang of it now lol

Thanks for all your help & advice guys.. Much appreciated !
 

SCOOBY66

Inactive User
Joined
May 25, 2009
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
nothing is working for me folowing the guides but still not letting me use the maps
 

killer1436

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
london
Re: How to add maps to TOMTOM GO 910

can anyone help me to get the latest maps for GB without having to pay 49.99, and how do i install it, i have a go 910
and would love to change the cruiser from the blue arrow to a car
 

kam0

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 19, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
How to install and activate TomTom maps on a ONE XL Eu or GB
What you need:
A backup of your SD card safely out of reach, two if your not too sure.
1, A suitably sized extra SD card to carry the Map, or a bigger SD card if your updating a
GB unit.
2, The Map file.
3, Your Device ID.
4, A copy of keygen
5, An sd card reader/writer
Format your new card FAT
Copy map file folder to SD card and any files from your GB or older smaller Sd card.
You can get your original data by using explorer and copying to a new folder and then back.
Make a folder on your PC and call it "A" or something short (becuse its easier than calling
it something with 27 letters)
Copy into C:\A the map .MID file (but call it "C.mid" or what ever suits you, its that
tedium thing)
Copy into "C:\A" The Keygen.exe program but call it "B.exe" or whatever (you know why and you might have to repeat the process and it can get tedious)
Got to RUN and run the CMD / command prompt program (or you can go via
start/program/accessories/command prompt)
CD A (change directory to A)
B.exe C.mid (enter key) {start program running}
Enter your Device ID. Its via TT bottom right corner, version and there it is on the screen.
It should then give you a product code which tallies with your map.
Insert you SD card into the slot of your XL or GB if the map is invisible try adding the
Guam map onto your card it apparently aids detection or something.
When you then select change map it will tell you that it needs activation and now you have
the code. Enjoy
I hope thats clear.
Kenny444
My TomTom Xl has no SD card.

Where can i get the keygen from?
 

markwynn

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
but what if you didn't make any backup from original SD card and lost it. how could I install everything back on the new SD card? I am absolutely new to this and basically need step by step instructions. My unit tom tom one v2
 

n1viperx

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 13, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I manage to activate with keygen the preinstalled maps (GB_plus_major_roads_of_WE) that were not activated for use. i have downloaded (Eastern_Europe_915_5106) but i cant find the mid file to make it work.. i understand i need to patch the map file but i dont understand how.. can anyone help me ?
 
TEST
Top