help needed can't watch another channel while recording

leonc

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 26, 2013
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
I can record. However when I go to another channel I get the message Tune Failed. If I record RTE and go to some other irish channel I can watch that but if I go to sky or bbc I get the Tune Failed. I have Technomate TM-2T with Vix 778 image kernel 3.5.3. Can you help. Would it be to do with lnb I have?
 

Abu Baniaz

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,306
Reaction score
2,479
Location
East London
To be able to use two channels (view one and record/stream another) you must have two satellite feeds. You can use one tuner for more than one channel if they are on same transponder.

Please describe LNB you have ie how many ports, how many wires are going to the 2T. Also state what the tuner config is for eact tuner on the 2T.
 

leonc

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 26, 2013
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Thanks for reply I am pretty new at this. I did have 2 seperate LNBs side by side going into a DiSEqC 2/1 switch. I removed one this morning, the signal on one was not too good around 50 even moving it I couldn't get better signal. I also wasn't sure how to configure these on the technomate.


Tuner A is now set to Advanced, Sat Astra 1N/2A/2F/Eutelsat 28, LNB1, Priority Auto, Lof universal LNB, Voltage mode polarisation,Tune Mode Band, diseqc mode None.
Tuner B is equal to A.

Should I get another LNB like a Technomate TM-2 Twin LNB? Should I use a Diseqc 2/1 or a quad with Diseqc 4/1 or do without Diseqc and run seperate cable to the technomate? Sorry for all questions. Maybe you could point me to dummies setup.

thanks
 

trevortron

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2013
Messages
2,918
Reaction score
3,522
Location
Algarve, Portugal
The setup you have described is for receiving signals from two different satellites- say the Astra 2 group AND perhaps Astra 1. Assuming you only want BBC, RTE, Sly etc., you need a TWIN LNB, and forget about the DiSEqC switch. You will also need two separate cables coming from the twin LNB to your receiver. This way, one tuner can work independently of the other, thus allowing you to record one channel while watching another. You cannot 'split' a satellite signal like you can with a terrestrial aerial signal, hence the need for two separate feeds.

Example of a Twin LNB:
http://www.o-digital.com/uploads/2244/2250-1/Universal_Twin_LNB_Platinum_Edition_HLA2080_533.jpg
 

leonc

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 26, 2013
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Thanks that is very clear.
 
TEST
Top