Help - Can't unlock PIN code

hal22

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Please help.
Not sure if it’s my fault or have NTL changed something since the recent upgrade.
About three weeks ago I changed my PIN code and everything was fine but since last week I am unable to unlock my box using my new or old PIN code, when you try and go on to a channel wich requires a PIN code or book a movie the dialog box appears and says unable to unlock using PIN code error – phone customer services. Don’t really want to do that.
Does anyone know if there is ther some way to reset a box PIN code.

Cheers
 

draindet

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
497
Reaction score
0
Give us some more info m8, what box, what area etc.
 

hal22

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Sorry, I heard all you guys had crystal balls or was that referring to something else.
Anyway the box is an NTL model No DiTV 1000 and I’m in sunny Manchester which is an ex CW area.

thanks
 

draindet

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
497
Reaction score
0
Im not that familiar with the 1000 but if you know how to reset your net id then pull the red jumper if the 1000 has one if not short out the battery and then reset the frequency and net id this will enable you to set your pin in the em.
You could also try just shorting the battery very quickly about 2 seconds this resets only the pin on the samsung boxes, may work on the 1000.

Sorry i cant be any more help

Good luck
 

JIMMYQ

DW Regular
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
27
Location
DW
In the unfortunate circumstance you son/daughter decided to order some XXX or PPV and didn’t know the pin…they would probably have locked your PIN and you would have to reset it. The following are a few pointers to get you back on track of resetting your PIN.
1000 Series:
You can pull the red jumper but you'll still need libby to set your area or you can use Libby to do the whole works. Before using Libby, make sure you have got your box’s configuration file. (Check cable downloads section) and make sure you can connect (talk) your box with libby.
1. Boot into engineer menu (holding down the up and down arrow buttons).
2. Take note of you NET ID/area frequency on page one.
3. Run lib erase (clear) S-RAM using Libby. Your PIN number and area code will be erased (reset).
4. Set the NET ID using Libby.
5. Boot box in engineering menu and set your PIN and area frequency code.
4000 Series:
You can reset your PIN on a 4000N box without using Libby and opening your box
1. Assuming you've forgotten the PIN you put any old PIN in 5 times so that the box reports that the PIN is locked.
2. Go to the Menu option where you would unlock the PIN, and put in any old PIN (it shall probably tell you invalid pin entered).
3. Then reboot the box and go into Engineers menu (holding down the up and down arrow buttons whilst the box is being booted up).
4. You should now find that you can actually move down to the PIN option on the 1st page and reset the PIN using the buttons of the box.
4001 / 4010 Series:
You can reset your PIN on a 4001/4010 box without using Libby but shall need to open your box
1. Boot into engineer menu (holding down the up and down arrow buttons).
2. Take note of you NET ID/area frequency on page one.
3. Turn off box and remove the back of the box.
4. Look on the board and you will see a jumper (normally red), remove it and replace it after 2 minutes.
5. Reboot box back into engineers menu and change your frequency back (as noted in point 2).
6. Go to page 4, I think, where you can now change pin with the up arrow button. Remember the PIN you have chosen.
7. Reboot box and when you order a PPV, just type in your new pin
 

hal22

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
I think you've hit the nail on the head - kids
Thanks very much guys I'll give it a go over the weekend.
Watch this space.

Cheers
 

draindet

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
497
Reaction score
0
I knew you would know

Nice one JimmyQ
 
TEST
Top