Hdd

kallum67

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
63
Hi I have pulled a hard drive out if a virgin TiVo box and I do not know how to format it because it is using a fdisk partition which is not supported by windows and I want to know how I would be able to format it and it is only showing up as 0.050 KB on the drive
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,196

sneaker

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
2,412
Is it a seagate 500gb, I was recently given one out of a virgin box by gez, I got it working using Seagate DiscWizard.

If I remember rightly it repreps it for you to raw, so when You put it in the pc it will be recognized in disc management to assign a drive letter, then format.
 
Last edited:

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,764
Is it detected in the BIOS/UEFI?

What are you planning on doing with the HDD? Drives designed for PVR and CCTV have some short comings when used as desktop drives.
 

kallum67

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
63
I am planning to use the drive for external storage and the drive is detected in the bios and it is detected in windows and now in disk manager it is saying disk not ready
 

sneaker

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
2,412
In Disk manager can You not highlight it, right click on it and assign a drive letter?
And what make of drive is it? @kallum67

Forget the drive letter You said it is seen in windows now so it must have one.
 

kallum67

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
63
you cannot right click it and assign a drive letter the only options is initialize disk properties but when you go to initialize the disk it says disk not ready and the make of the drive is seagate
 

sneaker

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
2,412
I've just tried diskwizard again, I used the add new disk option, is that You tried? and it failed to see it.
 

fus10n

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
797
I just pulled the old 500gb out my old non working tivo box, thanks for the suggestion. It was found by disk management and i had to initialize it before it was seen by windows. I was surprised to find it was western digital caviar green!
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,196
Ive had a few drives taken from old VM boxes.
Unless the drive is faulty then windows disk management should work fine.
 

kallum67

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
63
sorry for the late reply had a go with disc wizard and i had no luck
 
TEST
Top