Hardware HDD format error.

river4ever

river4ever
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
1,096
Likes
198
#1
Having issue formatting HDD.
I've formatted many HDD but this one is giving me problems.
Currently it is NTFS on 2TB (2.0)

After 15 mins into format it stops and says "bad disk"
Im using the same formatting tool as I've always used without issues.
Is there away to fix this?
Im trying to format it to "EXT4"
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,165
Likes
580
#2
You could see if the manufacturer has a diagnostic tool for it. It might not fix it but it could tell you what's went wrong.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
4
Likes
0
#3
if you're trying to format it to ext4 I'm assuming you have a linux distro. try formatting using the linux terminal.

-use the command lsblk to list the block devices. you should see your 2tb drive in there, something like /dev/sdx

then use the fdisk command to format the drive.

sudo fdisk /dev/sdx
then do
d (deletes partitions on drive) [enter key]
o (creates new dos label) [enter key]
n (creates new partition) [enter key]
p (creates new primary partition) [enter key]
itll ask you about disk size, just hit enter a couple times to do the whole disk.
finally, hit w to write the changes and hit enter to confirm the write.

then use the mkfs command to format the drive.

sudo mkfs.ext4 -LBLANK /dev/sdx [where x is your 2tb drive (usually b or c)]

and reboot so the system can save changes.

Now you should have your 2tb drive in ext4 :D

if you have issues after that, its probably hardware related and i'd get a replacement
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2016
Messages
5
Likes
0
#4
Having issue formatting HDD.
I've formatted many HDD but this one is giving me problems.
Currently it is NTFS on 2TB (2.0)

After 15 mins into format it stops and says "bad disk"
Im using the same formatting tool as I've always used without issues.
Is there away to fix this?
Im trying to format it to "EXT4"
Did you try Partition Wizard? You can format to ext2, ext3 and ext4. Which software do you use???
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
12
Likes
0
#5
Sounds odd. Have you used a utility to do a surface/physical scan for bad sectors? Check the SMART data as well. Hopefully the drive is not damaged.
 

stylee

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2017
Messages
25
Likes
0
#6
by any chance are you formatting this disk for a set top box or something using a 3rd party tool in windows? if you are using a linux distro did you try what jpcompsol mentioned? if so and that failed let me know what flavor of linux you are using and I will see if I can help. :)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
12
Likes
0
#7
Sounds odd. Have you used a utility to do a surface/physical scan for bad sectors? Check the SMART data as well. Hopefully the drive is not damaged.
Seems like another bad HDD - Do you have another PC you can try adding it as a secondary disk and running a quick format?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
6
Likes
0
#8
You should check the smart status of your hdd, hdtune free version will tell if you have some unrecoverable errors on your hard drive.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
20
Likes
1
#10
try active killdisk it will defo erase anything and then let you set it back up however you want. its free too
 
TEST
Top