• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

fujitsi siemens laptop problem

sniper214

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
419
Likes
1
#1
Hi guys can somebody please help me i have got a fujitsu siemens amilo laptop and i have a blue screen comin up when i try to install xp i put a new 30gb hdd in it thinking that might be the problem and tried to reinstall windows. the error says ( the problem seems to be caused by the following file: setupdd.sys page_fault_in_nonepaged_area ) and no matter what i do it just keeps coming back to this blue screen.Has anybody got any ideas what i can do?? thanks.
 

shaun127

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
7,745
Likes
348
#3
Hi Sniper
Is it a Sata HDD,
Did you get and are you using the restore disks that come with lappy.
If so are you pressing F6 when it looks for the drivers of your sata drive? I
f you are it may not be recognising the drivers for the new HD


If you are loading Windows XP onto a computer with a serial ATA (SATA) hard drive, you will have to manually load the SATA drivers.
The first step is to put the SATA controller drivers on a floppy disk.
Copy the Intel® 82801FBM SATA AHCI Controller zip file from website http://www.fujitsu-siemens.com/support/downloads_1.html and expand into root directory of floppy disk. (i.e. root directory of floppy disk should contain \pide and \sata folders, txtsetup.oem, etc. files.)
Then, boot system by Windows XP installation CD, when the message "Press F6 if you need to install a third party SCSI or RAID driver" shows up, press "F6". Then, press "S" to specify additional device when next screen pops up. Put the driver floppy disk you made in and press enter to continue. If the floppy disk is made successfully, the installation program will ask for selecting driver. Please then select " Serial ATA RAID Controller(Windows XP)".) After SATA driver loaded and Windows XP can recognize the SATA HDD, you can continue to install Windows XP as usual.
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,698
Likes
349
#6
If you took an IDE/mini-IDE HDD out then you don't need the SATA drivers. shaun127 was just suggesting a solution if you did have SATA.

Incidentally, you only need the SATA drivers if you want to run a RAID array (I've got 2 SATA HDDs in my PC with no RAID drivers installed).

General consensus of opinion on the web is that it could be the HDD (unlikely if your getting the same error on 2 differert HDDs), the IDE controller, your RAM or the CPU... none of which are cheap to replace on a laptop. However, if you can try a different XP disc.
 

sniper214

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
419
Likes
1
#7
i've tried a new hdd so i reckon its not that i've tried different memory and different xp discs and still no joy so according to your list it must be the cpu then what do you reckon?
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,698
Likes
349
#8
In a situation like this it may be best to have it diagnosed at a local independent computer shop i.e. not PC World (unless its within warranty period and you bought it from them).

With the number of different answers on the net you could spend the price of a new laptop just trying to find the cause. Mobile CPUs are not cheap (a specialist market), and even then it could be the IDE controller on the motherboard (which I think would involve a new motherboard tbh).
 

shaun127

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
7,745
Likes
348
#10
Try reseting the bios to default settings. make sure that the Bios is also seeing the new Hard drive and if your bios has the option to turn off ACPI, try that. failing that mate I aint got any other ideas
 

shaun127

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
7,745
Likes
348
#12
Try reseting the bios to default settings. make sure that the Bios is also seeing the new Hard drive and if your bios has the option to turn off ACPI, try that. failing that mate I aint got any other ideas

Go into the bios by pressing delete key when you switch your lappy on( or check your manual if delete key dont work, for the correct key) one in scroll thru the bios untill you find rstore defaults or something similar (diff bios have different wording) check device boot order and check that it is booting from the cdrom/dvd 1st. check that it can see your 30gig HD or set all IDE devices to Auto detect. then look for a way of turning ACPI off, should say something like enable / disable ACPI. again check youe user manual, should have a section on the Bios. uif you havent got a manual, post the complete model name and number of lappy. and we'll have a look for online manual

hope this help sniper, but like I say Bios look different andI aint seen the Bios on your type of lappy mate.
 

sniper214

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
419
Likes
1
#13
tried delete and didnt work so tried f2 and got in that way but the only thing you can change is the time and date,ide config,parallel port add,boot priority and passwords oh andpower management.so its gonna go into a shop i've had it now its doin me head in.Thanks for all the help much appreciated.
 

shaun127

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
7,745
Likes
348
#14
tried delete and didnt work so tried f2 and got in that way but the only thing you can change is the time and date,ide config,parallel port add,boot priority and passwords oh andpower management.so its gonna go into a shop i've had it now its doin me head in.Thanks for all the help much appreciated.
ok mate sorry I couldnt help you futher.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
863
Likes
1
#15
Not sure if this is a similar problem but i have a lifebook 8020d and cannot reinstall xp says it cant find hard drive but xp is on it.My computer shows up c disc and d disc so could this be partitioned or something?