Error loading operating system

rutters

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
1,151
Reaction score
15
Location
boro
Hi guys..got a laptop that's been giving me probs..tring to re-format..XP disc in Drive..set Boot order in Bios and I'm getting the above.

any ideas please?

cheers
 

rutters

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
1,151
Reaction score
15
Location
boro
thanks for replying.

The disc is ok cos I've used it many times. Sometimes I get the 'Press any key...' thing but others I go straight ti 'Error Loading...'

I can still get to the Boot preferance nenu to set it to disc drive.

cheers
 

Psy

Member ++
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
177
Reaction score
3
Location
The Dark Side
Boot select

Do you have any USB devices attached .... that can upset the boot order.

If you hold down F12 during boot that will normally allow you to manually select the CD. If you are still getting the error it sounds like something has gone wrong with your install CD.
 

davemac82

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
75
Reaction score
2
could be your optical drive not reading the disc properly its a common fault with lasers in cd drives in laptops try burning a fresh disk, if you have used the disc many times before it probably has a few scratches on it hence the fact your cd drive cannot read it, also try using a cotton bud to clean the eye of your lense BUT BE CAREFUL WITH IT BE VERY GENTLE!!
 

faiz

Member ++
Joined
Dec 12, 2004
Messages
332
Reaction score
2
Location
LOFT
could be your optical drive not reading the disc properly its a common fault with lasers in cd drives in laptops try burning a fresh disk, if you have used the disc many times before it probably has a few scratches on it hence the fact your cd drive cannot read it, also try using a cotton bud to clean the eye of your lense BUT BE CAREFUL WITH IT BE VERY GENTLE!!

i agree, mostly the part of the cd being bad, just really depends on the two things the sensivity of the laser secondly the quality or condtion of the disc.In either case just burning a fresh copy should do it.
 

timalloy

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
34
Reaction score
2
happened to me a couple of times trying to install xp with a disc that i had used a few times,same thing happened "Error loading operating system"

made another xp disc and problem solved :Clap:
 

maggot

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
1,269
Reaction score
13
Location
Telford
try going to bootdisk . com there is a xp boot setup disk program u run it and it copies files to 6 floppy disks bang them in one at a time then you load off the cd give it a blast
 
TEST
Top