Dead Box

OldeFellow

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Location
Northwest england
Hi fellers,I have a pace ditv2000 box.When I woke this morning I find the standbye light out,and the box dead.I suppose it will be the power supply that is at fault.Anyone know if any of the components in this are favourites to pack in first.Could save me a bit of time checking as i'm certainly no genius at electonics.Here's hoping.Thanks in advance.
 

irratic

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
1,363
Reaction score
5
if you find the part thats gone mate let me no. i had one do the same a few months back so its sitting up a corner....
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
5,137
Reaction score
4,026
Location
nr.Cov.... pure n*l
I have only ever seen 1 pace 2000 and if I remember correctly it has a seperate power supply board. If this is the case then send me a pm as I can repair these power suppies for you f.o.c so long as you pay postage.

Chookey
 

JIMLCHIPIT

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2004
Messages
627
Reaction score
2
i don't think there is a seperate power board, i think there may be an onboard fuse, should be situated close to the power connector.
 

OldeFellow

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Location
Northwest england
Hi All,First the power supply is on the main board,on the right hand side looking from the front.There is a fuse near to the mains connector that is soldered to the board.Thats ok,Ive checked it.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
5,137
Reaction score
4,026
Location
nr.Cov.... pure n*l
Yes, you are probably right. I haven't seen inside one for 18 months+. I do know though that it is almost exactly the same as the power supply in the 4001. The repair of these and the 4010 is so easy as long as you have a meter and a soldering iron.

@ Oldefellow and irratic...you need to take some voltage readings on the blue coils and post your findings.

Chookey
 

pacman362

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
571
Reaction score
7
Does it click constantly when you plug it in (quite hard to hear sometimes) if so its a knackerd cap (i think thats what there called) ive had a few of these do this and gave up trying to fix them in the end so i junked emm !
 

IAmATeaf

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
4,324
Reaction score
500
Location
Up ya arse!
Check the comps near the PSU and see if any are getting hot, first thing I would do is change a few of the caps near the PSU or even check their voltages when the box is plugged in. A shorted cap or resistor somewhere else on the board could also trip the PSU so without checking voltages it would be difficult to say what to do.
 

OldeFellow

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Location
Northwest england
Hi Chookey,Yes the 2000 and the 4001 are very similar if not exactly the same.I have one of each layed out side by side at the preent time.I will do as you sugest and check the voltages on the blue coils (chokes are they?).I'll let you know how I go on.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
5,137
Reaction score
4,026
Location
nr.Cov.... pure n*l
Hi Chookey,Yes the 2000 and the 4001 are very similar if not exactly the same.I have one of each layed out side by side at the preent time.I will do as you sugest and check the voltages on the blue coils (chokes are they?).I'll let you know how I go on.
Yes, we used to call them chokes in the old days. Had to have a look at your profile and see your date of birth. Same thing, does the same job. If you have had some training in the past this repair will be easy.

Chookey
 

OldeFellow

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Location
Northwest england
Hi Chookey,I checked the voltages on the blue coils and were as follows.Each one had a reading fluctuating rapidly between the values of 0.6 volts to 3.9 volts.The main capacitor voltage was fluctuating as well between 329 volts and 331 volts.I could not hear any ticking sound coming from the power supply.Mind you I am a bit deaf,but I had me hearing aid in.Cheers mate .Any help would be golden.
 

OldeFellow

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Location
Northwest england
Hi Chookey,Thanks for the diagram mate.I'm ok reading the circuit diagram ,but finding those parts is something else again.I'm not used to this micro stuff it's giving me a headache.I know what I'll go and force a few pints and have another go tomorrow.Thanks again for the diagram mate bloody magic that is.
 
TEST
Top