• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

DBOx 2 Freq range

Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#1
Evening all.

Can anyone tell me what the freq ranges is on th eNokia Dbox2 receiver??

I'm tryinh to get ch0rus going again on a dbox and a dreambox.
The dbox is not picking anything up on freqs like 410 and 426

While the dreambox is.....

Thanks

Neill
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Likes
194
#2
The frequency range is about 47 - 862MHz. It should be able to pick up transponders at those frequencies ok.

Have you tried a signal booster?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#3
The frequency range is about 47 - 862MHz. It should be able to pick up transponders at those frequencies ok.

Have you tried a signal booster?
Havent tried a booster yet....any recomendations?
I have one in the attic spliting sig to bedroom box but I dont think its much use for digital signals
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#4
Attach a services file from your dreambox. It looks like the frequency spacing was changed.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#5
Attach a services file from your dreambox. It looks like the frequency spacing was changed.
Hi MGB

Here is the service file from my dreambox.

I've tried copying this into the Dbox...didnt work.

Thought it would seeing as image on both boxes is Neutrino....

Maybe I'll try a diff image on Dbox

It used to be that the dreambox was the hard one to get going...not the other way around ;)
 
Last edited:

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#6
Did you get the services.xml from a network scan at the dbox2?
If yes it looks like the NetworkInformationTable at the chorus network is botched. Some frequencies are out of range. Specially that ones for the radio channels.formation
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#7
Did you get the services.xml from a network scan at the dbox2?
If yes it looks like the NetworkIndentificationTable at the chorus network is botched. Some frequencies are out of range. Specially that ones for the radio channels.
I got it from a dreambox (scanning individual freqs manually)

I then tried scanning on the Dbox using the freqs that found ch's on the dreambox.

The freqs 274mhz - 322mhz found ch's on the dbox
any freqs above this found nothing.......strange.

I then tried the dreambox services.xml in the dbox....no joy.
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#8
Try that cables.xml for your dbox2.
Upload the cables.xml to /var/tuxbox/config and delete scan.conf and unplug your box. In some UK images the cables.xml goes to /share/tuxbox.
Try first Chorus cable with disabled fast scan and if the result is not so good Chorus bruteforce.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#9
Try that cables.xml for your dbox2.
Upload the cables.xml to /var/tuxbox/config and delete scan.conf and unplug your box. In some UK images the cables.xml goes to /share/tuxbox.
Try first Chorus cable with disabled fast scan and if the result is not so good Chorus bruteforce.
Hello again.

Working late today so just got to try this again.
Thanks for the Irish cables MGB.

Unfortunately the Dbox is not pulling anything in on the higher freqs.

Works fine on
274
282
290
298
306
314
306
322 (This used to be chorus's Default & highest freq


These Freqs are bringing ch's in on Dreambox but not on Dbox
371
386
394
410
426

All of the above are in cables.xml.I've tried scanning at the main feed in too.

Seems strange that its anything over the old highest freq.

I have a services file from Dreambox (Neutrino)...does this need converting??
If I copied it into the Dbox it might pull em in even if it wont scan on the higher freqs.....

Im stumped :(
 
Last edited:

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#10
You can convert your services file from nplus format to neutrino dbox format with the dreamset editor.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#12
At Last!!!

Think I have it sorted!!!!

When I was having trouble with the Dreambox I eventually pulled in the channels by painstakingly manully going through the freq range....

Well guess what?!?

I started doing the same for the high freq's that werent coming in, varying about 250hz at a time and I started pulliing them in!!!

They are at very unusual freqs eg.426756.714

I'll post up the working services file tomorrow when I have everything captured

Thanks again to MGB,Devilfish and the rest of the gang for all ideas and info.

Cheers

Neill
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#13
Such a frequency shift is not typical for a cable network.
Either UPC has a technical problem in your area or something is wrong with your inhouse wireing.
I guess its a UPC/ex Chorus fault. That frequency range was never used before.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#14
Such a frequency shift is not typical for a cable network.
Either UPC has a technical problem in your area or something is wrong with your inhouse wireing.
I guess its a UPC/ex Chorus fault. That frequency range was never used before.
Could this be due to the fact that they are implementing a Broadband service
over cable now??
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#15
If in the nit 426.000 is definded and you get 426.756 in reality its a simple technical problem. You could check the contents of the nit at the default frequency 322.000 .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#16
If in the nit 426.000 is definded and you get 426.756 in reality its a simple technical problem. You could check the contents of the nit at the default frequency 322.000 .
How do I do this, is it in the services.xml file?


Ta

neill
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#17
You could use the dvbsnoop plugin and read the nit at 322.000.
After that you know if its a UPC fault in the NetworkInformationTable or a technical problem.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#18
Cool.

I'll try that when I get home from work.
Interesting to see what it trows back.

The face that the Dreambox scans ch's on normal freqs suggests that the network is ok...
 

kerbdog

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 13, 2006
Messages
217
Likes
1
#19
Hey Neillers,
Do you know the quick scanning settings for Chorus? Frew/symbol/NetID?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
197
Likes
1
#20
Hey Neillers,
Do you know the quick scanning settings for Chorus? Frew/symbol/NetID?
Net Id = 60
Symbol = 6875
Freq's = 274,282,290,298,306,314,322,371,379,386,394,410,426

A scan on each of the above freqs will bring in just over 140 ch's

I can send you a working service file if you like (I have dbox & dreambox)?