can't connect my laptop to my cable modem

fredthe red

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
i have a motorola cable modem supplied by ntl which i connect through a usb lead to my pc. there is also a rj45 connection on the back, i put a straight lead between the modem and my laptop i can ping it and veiw all the setting on the modem, but it doesn't give me the internet. help please

fred
 

KirstY140385

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
113
Reaction score
0
Try to connect the modem via ethernet to your computer then reboot the modem.
 

fredthe red

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
no joy get the local area connection icon come up on the task bar but no internet
 

JohnnyAtari

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
What IP address are you getting?

Also, can you ping out to any sites (e.g. ping google.com)?
 

fredthe red

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
can not ping goolge from the laptop when connected but can ping the modem
 
Last edited:

fredthe red

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
help i'm tryin to this workin so i cam plug my xbox into it
 

dazzab

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
140
Reaction score
1
i was under the impression these boxes can only use 1 port at a time.....only use usb or ethernet,think u need a router after the modem to connect pc/lappy/n console
 

fredthe red

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
in the Configuration Manager 192.168.1.1 on the modem under addreses it says this

Known CPE MAC Address (Max 1) Status

1# 00:0*:B*:8*:32:** Learned

take it that means it can only connect to 1 computer?
 

edogg

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
4,055
Reaction score
723
do you have the install dvd that came with the modem if so run it on the laptop and it should do all the configuration for you
 

biffo1

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
9,096
Reaction score
2,127
Location
Manchester
its easier to buy a router , u need to know what you are doning to get both working around 30 quid , once you do this get rid of the usb connection dont use it
 

Curious123

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
1,879
Reaction score
58
I have never loaded any of the broadband CD's supplied by CC, found them to be more trouble that they were worth. The ethernet port is the better option. Connect a straight ethernet cable from lappy to modem. On your lappy do Start > Run > CMD > ipconfig /release return and then ipconfig /renew. You might need to repeat the last command a few times.

I assume you have already tried NTL's Helpdesk?
 
TEST
Top