Can't access media player hard drive

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,631
Likes
583
#1
Got a 500GB drive in my media player with loads of files on it, full tv series and films. I can play it through the tv with no problems but it isn't accessible through my pc anymore.
When I connect it takes ages to appear in "my computer" and then starts autoplay but no files appear. Any attempt to access it stops "my computer" responding for ages before getting a message that the drive isn't accessible due to a i/o device problem.

In disk management the drive appears but has no file system. I removed the drive from the media case and connected it directly to my pc but that stopped my backup ide drive from appearing in my comp.

Seems I need to replace the drive but would hate to lose all my media files.

Is there anything I can do or am I just fooked?

Regards.......Chookey
 

jaffa

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
9,889
Likes
376
#2
Only thing I can think of is, have you it set as a slave drive, as it may clash if set as a master with your pc master drive. Sorry that may sound obvious but you never mentioned it.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,631
Likes
583
#3
Cheers Jaffa, you're probably right there as I haven't done anything with the jumper settings.
Found a cracking prog that may be able to recover my data and then rewrite the mbr to the drive. Gonna give it a try as I have nothing to lose really.
Gonna take a while so will post the results later.

Chookey
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,631
Likes
583
#4
Proved fruitless in the end. Too many bad sectors on the drive so will have to buy yet another new hard drive for it. This is currently number 3 as I destroyed the first 2 by tripping over the power lead and knocking it off the computer desk, lol.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,631
Likes
583
#5
Decided to download the Western Digital diagnostics tool and give it a try. Glad I did cos I have recovered my drive although it has took nearly 8 hours.

I ran a number of tests before rewriting the drive with zeroes, re-initialising it and creating a partition. I lost all the data on it obviously but don't have the cost of a replacement drive now.

Chookey
 

jaffa

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
9,889
Likes
376
#6
Decided to download the Western Digital diagnostics tool and give it a try. Glad I did cos I have recovered my drive although it has took nearly 8 hours.

I ran a number of tests before rewriting the drive with zeroes, re-initialising it and creating a partition. I lost all the data on it obviously but don't have the cost of a replacement drive now.

Chookey
Good to see you got your drive going again, pity about content. Best to get downloading again...lol.
 
TEST
Top