Can you use PC parts from USA in UK

Diddy

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
996
Reaction score
49
Location
At the Bookies betting on the snooker
As per title really, Background - I was just reading one of the poker forums i go to and a poster metioned that he was intending to build a super "Poker PC" - these days some poker analysis use a lot of database functions which inturn means ideally you would have a decent setup (Speed wise for data transfer ect), so anyway this poster went on to post up his intended build,
CPU: Core 2 Quad Q9450 Yorkfield 2.66 GHz 1333 MHz fsb - $350
RAM: mushkin 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1000 - $130
Mobo: Asus Rampage Formula (X48 chipset) - $290
Video: XFX GeForce 8800 GT 256MB - $160
HD: WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10k RPM - $300
HD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200 RPM - $110
DVD: Pioneer 20x DVD burner - $30
Cooler: Xigmatek S1283 120mm - $37
Power: SeaSonic M12 500W - $120
Case: Thermaltake Tsunami - $115

Total: ~$1600

Got me thinking apart from the Power supply what would stop a UK person being able to take advantage of these prices ? OBV you would order seperately and use the "Gift" trick to attempt to get round the VAT ect, but apart from that "hurdle" is there any other part in your PC that needs to be made for UK market ? I have bought RAM from the states before and never had any troubles and also many other small items (not pc related but did not attract customs levi's) -
As im sure you would agree if you were intending to build a high end PC USA prices would cushion the blow. Any thoughts/opinions on this ? Im not really thinking of doing this just now, but i may go this route in the future.
 

IANB

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
13,536
Reaction score
6,934
Location
somewhere cold
cant see anything stopping it working here exept as you said the psu
 

digicol

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
1,800
Reaction score
41
Location
North East England, but nowhere near Dutcho!!! Ba
Lol are you being serious mate?

You would have to pay postage on top of that, plus the hassle of an American warranty on all parts which will most likely not be covered in the UK. Also shipping from the USA and avoiding duty is not as simple as just writing "gift" on the box. Plenty of items get stopped that are marked as a gift and if they are found to be high value items they still charge you a silly amount of duty.

All in all it is just not worth it mate.

But for the main point that PC can built for the same price maybe even a few quid less right here in the UK.

Also you do not need a super computer for storing poker data, even in real time. Just play on the Crypto network as this is great for top players due to thier real time data in front of your eyes, and also use a poker analyst software (more of a hindrance if you use it in real time as it pulls your attention away from the initial game, these are only good for analysing your data once you have finished your poker session. Better still just play to your best ability and if after say 3 months you are not making a regular profit on your investment then your simply not good enough. I don't care what anyone says, it is the person that plays and learns the game from his own mistakes, no silly software can alter this fact.

The graphics card is 100% overkill unless of course you are going to be a very regular gamer. (And I am not talking about poker games, lol.)
 

notmeatall3

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,283
Reaction score
22
Location
z'ha'dum
As stated everything will work fine except the PSU.

Even that has prob got a selector somewhere on it to change it from 110V (US) to 230V (UK)
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
106
Location
Who knows !
Quite a lot of the PSU's are universal these days working from anywhere from 100v - 250V at either 50/60Hz. Obviously you would need to check though and its probably best if you source that particular component in the UK to make sure of compatability.

All other standard PC components are identical wherever you purchase them.
 

digicol

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
1,800
Reaction score
41
Location
North East England, but nowhere near Dutcho!!! Ba
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/144953
Q9450
£209

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...x2GB) PC2-6400C5 800MHz DDR2 Dual Channel Kit
4GB (2x2GB) PC2-6400C5 800MHz DDR2
£54 (Yes I know it's not 1000mhz but you will not see any difference in the real world unless you are benchmarking just for the bling bling factor.)

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/145362?gclid=CPjjp8KI1JMCFQyvQwodZzWvig
ASUS Rampage Formula Republic of Gamers Series iX48
£192 (flipping heck mate this is one expensive motherboard which is total overkill, again you will not see any performace increase in real world apps from this x48 chipset over the older p35 chipset unless your benchmarking and recording the info, also PCI-e 2 offers no performance increase as of yet.)


http://www.tekheads.co.uk/s/product?product=609027
XFX nVidia GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog XXX 256MB '650Mhz' DDR3 Dual DVI/TV Out (PCI-E)
£73

Raptor - why?
Other HD:
Samsung SpinPoint HD501LJ 500GB SATAII Hard Drive
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/130454
£45

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/672/87...h-Nero-Software/Product.html?searchtype=genre
Samsung S203 20x DVDRW / SATA Drive With Nero Software
£16

Cooler - no need, the stock one will be fine.

PSU - this oine is more than adequate for the system:
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/135159
OCZ StealthXtream 500W PSU - 1x PCI-E 6/8pin, 2x SATA 12cm Fan
£35

Case is your choice but if you like the Thermaltake ones I would just go with this one to save more cash:
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/101932
Thermaltake Soprano VB1000SNS Silver Mid-Tower Case
£47

Fair enought the above system comes to more than what you listed but for what it worth and to save all the hassle it is better buying from the UK.

I personally would 100% dump that board, why one earth would you want an x48 chipset?

Get this one:
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R iP35 1600mhz Socket 775 8 channel audio ATX
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/143226
£72

I am here to help you get the best possible setup for your needs mate, so if you give me a budget and the use of your PC I will try and get you a great price for the full system.
 
Last edited:

Diddy

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
996
Reaction score
49
Location
At the Bookies betting on the snooker
Digi like i said it was more of a hypothetical Q. As for what you need for poker well - i can tell you dont play much lol. Im not going on about the poker site or their software. I am actually talking about programs such as Poker Tracker 3, Holdem Manager, Poker Hound, Poker Office and most of these do infact need a fast HD and in some cases use quite a lot of RAM as well as putting your low end CPU under some strain. Database's used are usually Access, PostgreSQL and MySQL oh yes Phound uses Microsoft DB (Free Version). All in all mate a "semi" serious online poker player does need a decent setup if he is serious about analysing his and others games.

But no im not "serious" about the actual PC above it was just that the post on that particular forum got my old cogs thinking......lol
BTW as stated above I must be a lucky fooker as i must have had about £3-£4k worth of goods shipped from the US. Never had any real issues to date, but of course i am fully aware of how dodgey it "could" be.
Last point digi the above PC comes to approx £800 add a very generous £200 for shipping (remember hypothetical) so thats £1000 of your finest british pounds. Can you really build the above same spec system (no cheating lol) for £1k ? Just a teaser Q that mate but i am pretty interested in the reply.
 

Diddy

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
996
Reaction score
49
Location
At the Bookies betting on the snooker
PS Digi i have been a +EV poker player for about 4 years online and a little more off lol. FWIW come and rail me in the PStars Sunay Million if your board lol should be done in about 8 hours lol. Not having a pop BTW just teasing a little and pointing out that actually i am a pretty good winning player. And the use of poker tracker is essential unless you want to leave money on the table mate. BTW my screen name is ucanbluffme....incase we bump into each other at a table.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
106
Location
Who knows !
Jeez, thats some serious poker playing !

What ever happened to keeping track of it all in your head ?
 

digicol

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
1,800
Reaction score
41
Location
North East England, but nowhere near Dutcho!!! Ba
I will join poker stars soon to play you, but I only play heads up cash tables, none of this tournament bs, and for it's worth I am a top quality poker player, so you can stuff your tracking software up your jacksy. :)

Tracking software is bullshit, you play the player with the cards, tracking software means shit when it comes down to true reading of a particular player. As for analysing, again your only analysing the numbers, not the situation. If you need tracking software then good luck to you.

If poker was all about percentages then it would not be legal to play for cash in this country. It is down to the element of reading the player over a period of time that makes it legal and give the element of skill.

And you clearly know what your talking about in your previous post so your original post was a total waste of my fucking time responding!!!

Cya around.
 

digicol

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
1,800
Reaction score
41
Location
North East England, but nowhere near Dutcho!!! Ba
Digicol comment: I am a nob who should learn to read posts correctly and I am clueless as to what the feck I am saying half the time.

Sorry mate, wtf I was raving on about is anyone's guess. Just had a mental 30 minutes I guess, lol.
 
TEST
Top