can i conect to router instead of using crossover

pothead130

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
my box should arive soon just need to to can i conect it via the router and can i use it wireless as i have one of those nettoplug thing i never used or will i have to have it wired straight to router

if i can go wireless will it ask for the key i have to enter like i do on my wirless laptop

also where can i find the freq for my area

thanks
 

krazylegz

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,521
Reaction score
34
Location
teletubbie land
i wouldn't like to say on this one mate. i think i would rather just buy a crossover cable from any computer shop and go for the direct connection.
 

pothead130

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
i proberly would do the straight conection but the thing is my main pc is upstairs wired to the router and wireless laptop is don stairs (wireless) where i want to have dreambox

so i readly need a bit of advice which would be best way setup

the network card isnot in use on laptop so could i conect a ethernet lead from dreambox to the network card on laptop?

also im dont realy understand how crossover cable works

thanks everyone
 

krazylegz

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,521
Reaction score
34
Location
teletubbie land
not sure about that mate but you do need a crossover cable to transfer data to the box all you can do is try it but if it doesnt work just go for the direct connection
 

bob123123

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
What about a Wireless Ethernet Bridge. Do not know much about them but they turn any eathernet device into a wireless device and they don’t use drivers so they work with anything eathernet.

One is on ebay item 5835642470.

This is the latest linksys are selling.

h**p://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?childpagename=US%2FLayout&packedargs=c%3DL_Product_C2%26cid%3D1115416826519&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper
 

yvry

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
I always do with the router and my wireless notebook, until now no problem, just configured your dreambox network with gateway,dns and propagate services and not problem at all
 

twitcher

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
flash mine through router ok with normal ethernet cable
not tried wireless side yet but have read in a sat forum they can be set up with an wireless ethernet adapter ok
 

loady

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
1,328
Reaction score
3
Location
Andromeda system
hmmmm, i think it would be ok for flashing and moving small files accross, what if he wants to stream films and mp3s etc ?
 

k-net2020

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
580
Reaction score
2
pothead130 said:
my box should arive soon just need to to can i conect it via the router and can i use it wireless as i have one of those nettoplug thing i never used or will i have to have it wired straight to router

if i can go wireless will it ask for the key i have to enter like i do on my wirless laptop

also where can i find the freq for my area

thanks


Sorry to say but you wont be able to use a wireless connection for the dreambox, simply because you have no way of setting the wireless networks ssid or providing the wep/wpa key. Unless..

have read in a sat forum they can be set up with an wireless ethernet adapter

You are best to connect if fixed to your router, I'm in the same boat, running up and down the stairs, but even if you could setup for wireless it's still not advisable to try and flash your box over a wireless connection, 1 packet out of sysnc and your box could soon become a brick.

The item bob123123 mentions would be ok for basics but NOT for streaming video it's only 11MBs which would lead to wow & flutter.

It would be easier to setup your dreambox next to your router asnd then use a video sender to your tv, in an average house this would be pretty good quality, unless your a purist....

also where can i find the freq for my area

Look in the Dreambox downloads section for Satchmos Random Info post
 
Last edited:

pothead130

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
looks like i will be moving the router downstairs next to the dreambox then and make desktop pc wireless

do i have to have it connected to pc alltime or only for loading updates ?

thanks everyone for all the info hope it arives tomorrow as dvb-shop24 are very good at delivery
 
TEST
Top